How to Get a Missouri Marriage License
If you and your fiancée are ready to take the next big step in your lives, congratulations. You're about to embark on one of the most beautiful journeys that life has to offer. However, before you set sail, you'll need a marriage license. Think of a marriage license as a way that a State officially recognizes your marriage.
Most states have similar procedures when applying for a marriage license. However, there might be slight variations depending on where you apply for your marriage license. This makes it important to check the requirements in the State as well as the county where you are planning to apply for your marriage license before applying for it. It isn’t a difficult process, let’s take a look at it.
Missouri Marriage License Requirements
- Contact your local Recorder of Deeds to find out which times they are in and what hours they operate. Details like fees, types of payment used, hours and so on are usually different depending on the county you apply it. Contacting the office lets you find out these nuances as well as ask them for anything else you should know.
- The legal age to get married in Missouri is 18. If individuals under 18 would like to get married, they can. Individuals under 18 but over 15 can get married with the consent of a parent. Individuals under 15 years of age can only get married with an order from a circuit court.
- Bring proper identification with you. You will need ID to verify your birth date. Sometimes, you might need to show them your Social Security card. You may use a driver’s license, U.S. Passport, foreign passport or military ID to establish identity.
The Process for Getting a Missouri Marriage License
- When applying for a marriage license, you and your fiancée will need to both be physically present while applying for the license. People who have been married previously will have to wait at least 30 days after ending their previous marriage before they can apply for a new license.
- You will need to furnish different details in the application form. Details you’ll need to fill out include current as well as former names, race, education level, current address, place of birth, date of birth, age, number of marriages as well as the date that the previous marriages were dissolved. You must fill out the application form truthfully.
- Bring at least $50 in cash to pay for the application in case you aren’t able to find out how much the fee is. Some places take other forms of payment such as credit card, debit card and so on. However, bring cash to be on the safe side.
- After submitting your marriage application, you will receive the license immediately. Missouri doesn’t have a waiting period after submitting the license application. The marriage license you receive will be valid for six months from the date that it is issued.
- You can then get married anywhere in the State of Missouri. After getting married, the officiant of your ceremony must sign the license and return it to the recorder of deeds office within 15 days of the ceremony.
- Bring a witness or two while signing your marriage application. You might be asked to have a witness sign the certificate too. Ask two friends or 2 family members to accompany you both when you apply for a marriage license.
Does Missouri recognize proxy, cousin and common law marriages?
Missouri doesn’t recognize proxy, cousin and common law marriages.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Missouri?
Under the United States Supreme Court's landmark ruling in Obergefell v. Hodges, it is legal for same-sex marriage in all 50 states of the United States.