How to Obtain a Rhode Island Marriage License?
People who want to get married in Rhode Island can apply for a license in the city or town clerk’s office. There are some guidelines you can follow to ensure that you obtain a marriage license.
Residents of Rhode Island
If you and your fiance live in Rhode Island, then you can apply for the marriage license from your city clerk’s office, of the residence of either you or your soon to be spouse. If only you or your fiance lives in Rhode Island, then whoever lives there may apply for the license. The marriage license is legal and valid in any county in Rhode Island, and you can get married anywhere in Rhode Island.
People who do not live in Rhode Island
What does the documentary required for a Rhode Island marriage license?
The state requires the couple to complete the marriage worksheet and provide the necessary documents. These documents are required for the clerk to create the marriage license from the information provided from these documents. Both you and your fiance are required to sign the marriage license in the presence of the city or town clerk. The marriage license has a fee, which is currently $24 that is payable to the city or town.
Criteria or requirements before applying for a Rhode Island marriage license:
1. Proof of Birth Facts and Identification
Both you and your fiance must provide a certified copy of your respective birth certificates. A passport or alien card can be accepted for people who are born outside the United States and cannot obtain a birth record. A valid government-issued identification like a drivers license. However, some offices in different counties will not accept a passport without a certified copy of a birth certificate. You need to contact the city office where you will apply for the license to verify the requirements for a license and the hours of operation.
A Permit to Marry is required and must be completed if either of you is 16 or 17 years of age or under the care of a legal guardian. The permit to marry should be signed and notarized in the presence of the city clerk, or any clerk employed in that office. If it is not possible, you need to contact the Center for Vital Records for instructions. Marriage license applicants who are under the age of 16 cannot obtain a license in the State of Rhode Island without the approval of the Family Court.
3. Any previous marriage or union must be annulled, ended or divorced
If either you or your fiance was married earlier, or in a registered domestic partnership, and the union ended either in divorce, dissolution or death, you must present proof such as a certified copy of the final decree of divorce or dissolution to the city or town clerk. You cannot legally marry again unless your previous marriage has ended legally.
4. Provide the right Information
Falsification of documents by any person who willfully and knowingly supplies false information with the intent to provide that information which is used in the preparation of a marriage license is punishable by a fine of $1,000 or imprisonment of one year, or both, according to Section 23-3-28 of the Rhode Island General Laws.
There is no waiting period after you submit your application. You will be pleased to know that you can receive your marriage license immediately after you submit your application.