How to Get a South Carolina Marriage License
If you want to get legally married in South Carolina, you have to get a Marriage License. Once the license is issued, you can your ceremony may be held anywhere in the state. While most couples get their marriage license when they arrive at the beach, you may apply for your marriage license throughout any South Carolina county. South Carolina Marriage licenses are legal to use anywhere in the state.
How to go about getting a marriage license in South Carolina
1. Find out the legal requirements to get married in South Carolina
Before you apply for a license in South Carolina, make sure that you and your fiance fit in the criteria of people who can get married legally. People who cannot obtain a license in South Carolina are:
- People who are mentally incompetent individuals.
- Couples who are immediate family members
- Individuals/persons under the age of 16
- If you or your fiance is currently married.2. Gather official documents, if necessary
Under the South Carolina state law, only certain groups of people are required to show documentation to obtain a marriage license. However, you have to check with your local probate court to determine what documents are required. Some courts ask for identification with a photo and social security cards. The state law does require some groups of people to show documents.
- For example, if the couple applying for a license is between 16 and 18 who live with their parents, other relative or guardian, cannot legally marry without a signed consent to the marriage. It must be signed by the family member or the legal guardian with whom the applicant lives.
The marriage license fees usually range from $40 to $70. To ensure that you have the right price, you can contact your local probate court to find out how much it would cost you.
4. Ensure that you and your fiance are present while applying for a license
You must apply for a marriage license together in South Carolina. You should set a date and time convenient for both you and your fiance to go to the court and apply.
5. Ensure that you complete the marriage license application
You will have to provide your personal information like your name, your address, and your phone number. The license application will also ask for your social security number and your birth certificate. Under the law in South Carolina, you and your fiance will have to complete a statement under oath or affirmation that you are legally entitled to marry each other.
6. You have to wait for 24 hours to pick up your marriage license
The South Carolina law states that you must wait for 24 hours before you can receive your marriage license.
7. Find an official to conduct the ceremony
There are only a specific set of individuals who can perform and ordinate a marriage ceremony in South Carolina. These individuals are ministers and rabbis, officers who are authorized to administer oaths in South Carolina.
Once the court receives the copies, it records and indexes one copy in the public court record and sends one copy to the Division of Vital Statistics of the Department of Health and Environmental Control.
In this point, you are legally married under the state of South Carolina. You can retain a copy of the marriage license for your records. You can request a copy from the court.
- Additionally, if you ever need a certified copy of your marriage license, you can request one from the court.