How to Get a Tennessee Marriage License
If you want to get married in Tennessee, you have to make sure you fit the requirements an criteria.
1. Make sure you are of the age limit with proof
You have to be 18 years old or older to get married in Tennessee, and you’ll have to provide documents proving it. A birth certificate that is certified or government-issued photo identification, like your driver’s license, your passport and so on are acceptable. Passports are acceptable identification if you or your fiance are not U.S. citizens. You do not have to be a resident of Tennessee to get a license.
2. Provide your social security number
Your social security number is another requirement to get a marriage license in Tennessee. If you’re not a US citizen and you don't have a social security card, then you can provide your passport.
3. Make sure that you are not married to anyone else
If you are getting married, and you’ve been divorced, had your marriage annulled or there was a death, you’ll need to provide a certified copy of such an arrangement, like a divorce decree, a death certificate and so on.
4. You can collect your marriage license application at the county clerk's office
You will be able to collect and submit the license application at the clerk’s office. Almost all the county clerk offices have a website nowadays.
5. You need to complete a pre-application form online
Most county clerks provide an online form that allows you to submit most of the necessary application information in advance. You can check with the clerk’s office to see if they offer this service.
The marriage license fees may be payable only in cash in some counties, and some counties may also accept debit cards. The fees vary from $93.50 to $99.50.
7. You can consider taking a premarital preparation course
You can take this course a year before the date that you apply for the license, and the county clerk will reduce $60 from the application fee. You'll need to provide a Certificate of Completion to prove that you took up the course and avail the discount.
8. Before you submit the marriage license application, ensure that you have the necessary documentation with you
Do a quick check to make sure that you have all the necessary documents, before you head to the clerk's office, including the Certificate of Completion for the premarital preparation course, along with your passport/social security card/driver’s license.
9. You must apply for the license together
Under the law in Tennessee, both the bride and groom need to sign the marriage license application and swear to the truth of the information it contains. It’s a great idea to manage your schedules to go to the clerk’s office at the same time.
10. Get married within 30 days after you receive your license
The license is only valid for 30 days, so make sure that you get married within that time frame. Otherwise, you’ll have to go through the whole process once again.
Tennessee law provides several criminal penalties if you fail to follow marriage application laws.
- Fraudulently signing or if you are using false documents to marry when you're underage is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by not more than 30 days in jail and a $50 fine.
- Officiants who either solemnize marriages between two incapable of marrying or fail to sign and return the license to the clerk within three days of the marriage commit a Class C misdemeanor.