How to get a marriage license in the State of Utah?
If you are planning to get married in Utah, make sure you visit the office of the local County Clerk and apply for your marriage license. Although every county might have their distinct requirements for issuing a marriage license, there are some laws that are common all over the state.
When you want to get married in the state of Utah, you will need to go to your local county clerk's office to apply for a marriage license. While each county may have their requirements, there are a few laws that apply throughout the state.
To make sure that everything is on track, try to work for a marriage license a month before your date of the wedding. However, all license issues have a validity of 30 days, and so you need to plan accordingly.
ID and residency proofs
It is not mandatory to be a resident of the state of Utah for obtaining a marriage license. Both you and your partner should present a minimum of a single identification document. These include birth certificate, passport, or driver’s license. You have to show the Social Security Numbers too. To fill up your application, it is important to be aware of the maiden names, birthplace, and names of both your parents.
Details related to previous marriage if applicable
In case either you or your partner were married earlier, you have to show the divorce date or the date when your spouse passed away.
The approximate cost of a marriage license in Utah is about 40-50 USD as it can vary from county to county. There are some counties in the state that only accept cash as a payment mode.
Utah marriage License waiting period
There is no waiting period in Utah after obtaining your marriage license.
Cousin marriage in Utah
The state permits cousin marriages with some restrictions. Typically, it is not legal to get married to a first cousin in the state.
Proxy marriage in Utah
Utah does not allow proxy marriages. As such both the partners have to be present while applying. Some counties in the state may permit one of the partners to be present while applying for a marriage license.
Age restrictions in Utah
If a person is 16/17-year-old, they should have a guardian or a parent present for their written consent while applying for their marriage license. If a person is only 15-year-old, a juvenile judge should authorize. These people have to also go through premarital counseling sessions or any other requirements mentioned by the court. However, if a person has not attained the age of 14, marriage is not possible in the state of Utah.
Officials who can get you married in Utah
Some officiants can conduct a marriage ceremony in Utah. They include rabbis, priests, ministers, Native spiritual advisors, and so on. Other officials who can perform the ceremony are the governor, justices of the peace, president of the Senate, commissioners or judges, county clerks, retired magistrates or judges, U.S. magistrates or judges, and county clerks.
Utah marriage license Validity
The validity of a marriage license in Utah is 30 days like any other states. It means that you have to complete your marriage ceremony within 30 days from the date on which the license was issued and return the same to your County Clerk. When you wait for more than 30 days to get married, a wedding is not possible unless you apply for a fresh marriage license once again.
Copies of marriage certificate
In case you require a copy of your marriage certificate, it is imperative to get in touch with the relevant office, which takes care of such requests based on the marriage date.