How to Get a Marriage License in the State Of Vermont
The first and most important requirement for getting married in Vermont is to procure a marriage license. You should be aware of when and how to obtain a marriage license. Following are a few requirements you should be aware of:
ID and residence proofs in Vermont
It is not mandatory to be a resident of the state to be married here. However, the parties should apply for their marriage license in a town where any one of them lives. However, even nonresidents may apply for their marriage license at any of Vermont’ town clerk. To put it simply, it is possible to get married in any part of the state.
While some towns in Vermont will enable any one of the partners to be present to make the application, some others may need both to be present. Alternatively, you can also initiate the process by filling the application form online. As there can be local variances like these, it is highly recommended to get in touch with the specific office of the town clerk where you will be visiting to know the details for filling up your marriage license application.
Both you and your partner have to take proper identification with you while fining up your license application. However, such a requirement may also vary. Usually, an ID issued by the state, a driver’s license or passport is acceptable. Also, a valid birth certificate copy of yours may come handy too. Plus, be ready with relevant information about your parents such as their full names and where they were born.
Earlier marriages in Vermont
In case either you or the other applicant has been married previously, mention details of those marriages will fill up your application. If a spouse has died, you need only to mention the date of his/her passing away. When individuals have divorced, the date on which the divorce finalization took place should be mentioned.
Although you may not have to carry a divorce decree or your spouse’s death certificate, it makes sense to bring them while visiting the office of the clerk. The good news is marriage laws in Vermont do not require any waiting period. The moment you receive your marriage license, your wedding ceremony can start.
Vermont Marriage License Fees
A marriage license in Vermont may usually cost around 60 USD. While some towns accept only cash, others may take payment through different modes.
Marriageable age in Vermont
In case you are either 16 or 17, the consent of a legal guardian or your parent is compulsory. They should be present along with you while filling up the license form at the town clerk’s office. They should also sign an affidavit thus giving their consent on the marriage license. However, a person below 16 years cannot get married in the state of Vermont.
Officiants in Vermont
Some authorized individuals who can solemnize marriages in Vermont are justices of the peace, justices, and judges, licensed or ordained clergy members.
According to Act 148, the state permits you to ask a family member or a friend to solemnize your marriage through the program of Temporary Officiant. A payment of 100 USD has to be made, and the person has to register for the program. After that, if the person meets the specific requirements, he/she may be authorized to officiate a specific marriage ceremony. Plus, there is no need to have an official witness at a marriage ceremony in Vermont.
The validity of a marriage license in Vermont
The validity of a marriage license is 60 days in Vermont. So, you get about two months time period to complete your marriage ceremony after getting your license. Once the ceremony is over, your officiant has to file the license within ten days to the clerk who had issued the license.