Unlimited Public Records and Court Records Search

Public Records Search

Free Public Records, County Public Records, Public Records Lookup

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 18, 2021
Sensitive Information!

Drunk Driving Laws New Mexico 

While driving and drinking do not mix, there are thousands of road accidents that occur every year in the United States because of drunk driving. It is precisely for this reason that there are stringent drunk driving laws in New Mexico when it is about DWI or driving while intoxicated,

According to the DWI laws of New Mexico, if a motorist is caught driving with a minimum BAC or blood alcohol content of .08 percent, he/she can face severe consequences.

The DUI laws of New Mexico forbid a motorist from being in physical control of or driving a motor vehicle in any of the situations mentioned below:

  1. While under the state of intoxication because of a liquor
  2. While a person is under the influence of a drug that makes him/her incapable of operating a vehicle; or
  3. When the driver’s BAC or blood alcohol content is at least .08 percent. For a person who is driving a commercial vehicle the BAC should be less than .04 percent.

Punishment for drunk driving in New Mexico

According to New Mexico's drunk driving law, the punishments for violating the DWI laws may differ based on the prevailing circumstances. Typically, the convicted will be penalized with some or all of the following punishments:

  1. Fines
  2. Imprisonment
  3. Court fees
  4. The requirement of an ignition interlock device
  5. Psychological evaluation
  6. Driver education course
  7. Suspension of driving privileges
  8. Community service
New Mexico Drunk Driving Laws

According to New Mexico, DWI punishments by offense:

First-time offense

  1. License revocation between 6 months to one year
  2. A maximum prison term of 90 days
  3. DWI school
  4. Alcohol evaluation
  5. Ignition interlocks for one year
  6. Treatment
  7. Community service

Second-time offense

  1. A fine amount between 500 USD and 1,000 USD
  2. License revocation for 2 years
  3. Jail time between ninety-six hours and 364 days
  4. A maximum probation period of five years
  5. Treatment
  6. Community service
  7. Alcohol evaluation
  8. Ignition interlocks for two years
Drunk Driving Laws, DUI, DUI Laws,

Third-time offense

  1. Alcohol evaluation
  2. A prison term between thirty days and 364 days
  3. License revocation for three years
  4. A fine amount between 750 USD and 1,000 USD
  5. Ignition interlocks for three years
  6. A maximum probation period of 5 years
  7. Treatment
  8. Community service

Fourth-time offense

  1. A prison term of 6 months to 18 months
  2. A maximum probation period of 5 years
  3. Treatment
  4. Alcohol evaluation
  5. Ignition interlock for a lifetime and five-year court review
  6. A maximum fine of 5,000 USD
  7. License revocation for a lifetime with five-year court review

Fifth-time offense

1 A jail term between 12 months and two years

  1. License revocation for a lifetime with five-year court review
  2. A maximum fine of 5,000 USD
  3. Treatment
  4. Alcohol evaluation
  5. Ignition interlocks for a lifetime with five-year court review

Aggravated DUI in New Mexico

In case the DUI also included an injury accident of a person or the BAC of the driver was at least .16 percent, the drunk driving law of the state considers it as an aggravated DUI. In such a case, the penalty is more stringent as the compulsory prison term is increased by 48 hours when the offense is committed for the first time, 96 hours when the offense is committed for the second time, and 2 months when the offense is committed for the third time.

Underage DUI

The New Mexico drunk driving law does not recognize a distinct criminal offense for people who are below 21 years. On the other hand, if a driver below 21 years has a minimum BAC of .02 percent while driving, the license of the person is suspended for a year.

Like this page? Share it :)


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 18, 2021
Sensitive Information!