Child Abuse Laws in Oregon: These are the Child Abuse Laws for the State of Oregon
Typically child abuse is defined as any act or inaction to act, which leads to serious harm to the welfare and health or a risk that is about to occur to a child, impacts a kid below 18 years and is caused by a caregiver or a parent who is accountable for the welfare of that child.
The child abuse statute in Oregon covers all those offenses that have been mentioned above. It also includes an act of enabling a kid to enter into prostitution; selling or purchasing a child and allowing a child to go to a location where methamphetamines are made. Offenders who are convicted can be charged with a misdemeanor of Class A that can lead to up to one year behind the jail and a maximum fine of 6,250 USD.
It is a responsibility of all citizens in the country to protect people who are unable to defend themselves. Hence, the general public should report an incident related to child abuse and neglect in case they have adequate reason to believe in the authenticity of the situation.
Oregon – mandatory reporters of child abuse
While all residents have the responsibility of reporting suspected incidents of child neglect and abuse, the state law in Oregon requires workers in specific professions to mandatorily make reports when they have sufficient reasons to believe neglect or abuse. These people are a vital link in the state to protect the most vulnerable citizens of Oregon.
Examples of mandatory reporters in the state are as follows:
- School employees, which include employees of higher education institutions;
- Physicians or assistants of physicians or naturopathic physician, which include any resident or intern;
- Peace officer;
- A registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse’s aide, nurse practitioner, employees of in-home health service;
- Certified foster care provider or an employee;
- Licensed professional counselor;
- Regulated social worker;
- Member of clergy;
- Special advocated appointed by a court;
- Provider of emergency medical services or firefighter;
- Licensed family and marriage therapist;
- Occupational, speech, or physical, occupational therapist ;
- Certified or registered childcare provider ;
- All Audiologists;
- Any member of the state’s Legislative Assembly;
- A pharmacist
- A speech-language pathologist
- All employees of the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission who are directly engaged in discipline or investigations by the commission
- All employees of the private organizations or agencies who facilitate the arrangement of respite services
- Any operator of school-age recorded programs
According to the law, all the above mandatory reports should come ahead and report incidents related to suspected child neglect or abuse irrespective of whether the occurrence of such an act was received in the official capacity of the reporters or not. To put it simply, it is a 24-hour responsibility to report an act of child abuse or neglect mandatorily.
A mandatory reporter who is performing his/her duties in their official capacity and come across any disabled or elderly adult who they believe have been neglected or abused should also report such incidents to law enforcement agency or DHS.
Thus, all employees in the state's Department of Human Services are considered mandatory reporters. Such individuals are required by the law to report as they are in regular touch with high-risk populations including children and infants, dependent or older adults, and persons with developmental disabilities or mental illness, and are residents of health care facilities like nursing homes.