Drunk Driving Laws Washington
All About DUIs
DUI refers to Drunk driving, which is when a person drives a vehicle while being under the influence of alcohol or any other prohibited substance. This is considered an offense, which is why DUI Laws prohibit driving while drunk. Each state has its own laws related to drunk driving and specific how the offense is decided. The punishments for these offenses also vary from state to state. Drunk driving leads to accidents. Every day in the US, 29 people die because of an accident caused by a drunk driver. This why stringent laws are made to prevent such accidents.
Washington Drunk Driving Laws
Drunk Driving Laws in Washington prohibit operating or physically controlling a vehicle is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Apart from operating or making the vehicle move, even controlling a vehicle is also considered an offense as per the state laws. The Drunk Driving Law specifies different conditions under which a person can be guilty of drunken driving. These include:
- Having blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more, as measured through a blood test.
- Having a THC concentration of 5 nanograms or greater per every millimeter of blood, as measured in a blood test.
- Being under the influence of marijuana, alcohol, or drugs.
Any of the three conditions can lead to a conviction under the laws of the state. The state has an implied consent law, which makes it compulsory for anyone apprehended by the police to undergo a blood test. Refusal to do so can lead to punishment under the law.
Punishment for Drunk Driving in Washington
In the state of Washington, refusing a blood test to check for BAC is an offense. Anyone refusing the test will have his driving license revoked for a period of two years. If this is repeated a second time, the license revocation will be for three years. For a third offense, the license revocation period is for 3 years.
The punishment for violation of the drunk driving laws in the state of Washington is as follows. For a first offense, the following are the punishments prescribed:
- $350 to $5000 fine.
- 1 to 364 days in jail or 90 days in the 24/7 sobriety program. This is decided by the judge based on the nature of the offense.
- If the BAC was 0.15% then the imprisonment would be for a minimum of 2 days to 364 days and a fine of a minimum $500.
- The driving license is suspended for 90 days. It can be reduced to two days if enrolled for the sobriety program. For a BAC of 0.15% or more, the suspension is for one year.
In case of a second offense, the punishment would be:
- $500 to $5000 fine.
- Imprisonment for 30 days to 364 days in jail.
- Suspension of driving license for two years. It can be reduced to 1 year by enrolling for the 24/7 sobriety program. The suspension will be for 900 days if the BAC is 0.15% or more. The judge has an option to size the driving vehicle of the offender.
For a third offense, the punishment under the law is:
- 90 to 364 days of imprisonment.
- Six months in the 247 sobriety program.
- $1000 to $5000 fine.
- Suspension of the license for three years can be extended to 4 years if BAC is 0.15% or more.
Offenders can install the Ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles and request for probation during the license suspension period. On using the IID in their vehicles, they can operate their vehicles during the suspension period. This needs prior approval.