What Is The Law On Compounding A Felony In Wyoming And What Are The Punishments For It?
The laws on compounding a felony in Wyoming are very clear. You will be charged with compounding a felony in Wyoming if you knew that an actual crime was committed or a statue of law was violated and you then knowingly took property or accepted an offer of a property with the understanding or agreement (implied or express) that you would compound or conceal that crime or violation. The same holds true when you agree to abstain from impeaching the crime or violation and when you agree to suppress evidence of the crime or violation.
Emboldening or Obtaining Nonappearance of Witnesses
The law on compounding a felony in Wyoming also states that you would be charged for such crime if you embolden or obtain the nonappearance of witnesses or testament at a trial or examination of the wrongdoing or desecration.
Accepting or Taking Property
A person would also be compounding a felony in Wyoming when he or she takes property or accepts to get a property with the express understanding or agreement that you would compound, or discontinue, or delay prosecution for the crime of desecration. If you also choose not to provide evidence of the crime or desecration or if you encourage or ensure that a witness or testimony is withheld at the time of the examination or trial, then you will be charged with compounding a felony in Wyoming.
The law in Wyoming defines compounding as a misdemeanor for which the punishment can be quite strict. If you are convicted of compounding a misdemeanor or if you are guilty of violating a statute that has a penalty or forfeiture, then again you will be charged with compounding a felony.
Anyone in Wyoming that knows of a crime being affected or who knows a statue of law has been violated and who takes property or accepts an offer to get property and who agrees or has an understanding (express or implied) to compound the crime or violation or to conceal it will be charged with compounding a felony.
You also cannot abstain from the impeachment of the crime or violation and you are also not allowed to act in a manner that helps to withhold evidence pertaining to the crime or violation. All these acts will ensure that the state prosecutes you for compounding a felony.
Punishment for Compounding a Felony in Wyoming
If the compounding a felony charge is only a misdemeanor, then you can be imprisoned for a period of not more than 365 days and you may also be fined a sum not exceeding 2000 dollars. In some cases, the court may sentence you to both imprisonments and you will also have to pay a fine.
If you compounded a misdemeanor for which a penalty or forfeiture is prescribed, then you can be charged with compounding a felony and the sentence in such case would be imprisonment for not more than 3 years. You may also be fined a sum of not more than 3000 dollars, or you may be both fined and sentenced to jail, provided the felony was punishable by imprisonment and you compounded that felony.
The state of Wyoming may also sentence you for compounding a felony by sending you to prison for a period of not more than 5 years. You may also be fined a sum of not more than 5000 dollars, or you may be both imprisoned and fined.
It bears keeping in mind that Wyoming, unlike most other US states, does not have a statute of limitations which means that there is no time limit within which the state has to begin prosecution proceedings against an offender. Thus, the state can start prosecution proceedings at any time after the crime was committed.