Knowledge — 4 months ago

A Guide for Purchasing Firearm in Tennessee

by Keren P.

Firearm in Tennessee, How to Buy Firearm in Tennessee

How to Buy a Firearm in Tennessee

The gun laws in the United States are constantly changing at the state and federal levels. After a point, it can get pretty hard to stay updated on the latest rules, regarding gun rights. However, Tennessee is one of some states that are pretty liberal when it comes to gun rights.

The state, in a way, encourages law-abiding citizens to have access to firearms and defend their freedom.

In this guide, we’ll be looking at how you can acquire a firearm in Tennessee.

Purchasing a Firearm in Tennessee

Tennessee is one of some states that protects its citizen's second amendments rights. The state does not require you to have a permit to buy a firearm. However, that does not mean you can simply head to a gun store and simply walk away with a handgun. There are some basic rules that must be met.

Firearm in Tennessee

For starters, the buyer must be 21 or older. They have to provide a state ID and also submit to background check. The background check itself is carried out by the State of Tennessee, unlike other states, where the FBI or Federal Bureau of Investigation carries out such checks.

Since the checks are conducted by the state, the process tends to be faster. You will not be competing with buyers from all over the country, which is what happens with FBI background checks since it is a federal agency.

You Cannot Own a Handgun in Tennessee…

  • If you have been convicted of a felony that involves the use of violence, force, or a deadly weapon.
  • If you are under the age of 18.
  • If you have been convicted of a felony drug offense.

The second rule might sound contradictory, but this is because the original rule of “21 or over” is by the Federal Laws. However, the state of Tennessee has its own rules, which reduce the minimum age to 18 instead of 21.

But there are conditions. For starters, 18-year-old buyers can only purchase a used gun in a private sale. If they intend to buy a brand-new gun form a store, they will have to adhere to Federal Law and wait till they turn 21. Firearms dealers are licensed by the Federal Government and are required to follow federal laws.

How to Buy Firearm in Tennesse

Children Can Use Guns in Tennessee

Tennessee also allows children to use guns. Of course, no one below the age of 18 can go out and buy a handgun. Even so, people below 18 can use a handgun if they are taking part in a firearms safety course, a hunter course, target shooting, etc. Target shooting here refers to actual target shooting in an authorized shooting range and not out in the open.

They are also allowed to use guns when participating in a competition or participating in a firearms event. They must be accompanied by an adult, such as a parent or guardian when doing so.

Children are also allowed to use firearms at home provided they have permission from a parent or guardian. They are also permitted to use firearms in the act of self-defense. This includes the use of deadly force.

Tennessee also allows children to use guns when hunting or trapping, provided they have the necessary licenses. This also includes being allowed to carry handgun/firearm when traveling to and from the above-mentioned scenarios. However, they must keep the gun unloaded during transportation.

So, there you have it – how to get a firearm in Tennessee. As you can see, the state is pretty liberal with its laws but does enforce some basic rules.


InfoHub by GoLookUp covers the latest and most comprehensive latest updates, news and information from around the web. InfoHub writers explore the internet and collect, analyze and deliver valuable information for our readers.

Golookup © 2015 - 2019 · All Rights Reserved