Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Kansas

Any person who participates in any sexual activity with any child below 16 years of age in Kansas could be convicted of sodomy or statutory rape or any indecent liberties with any child. The age of 16 is the age of consent in the state.

When it comes to the conviction of statutory rape, it does not matter whether that child has given consent to that activity. The age of the child is important here. Persons who engage themselves in any sexual activity without the latter's consent could be convicted of assault, rape, or sexual battery, independent of the age of the victim.

Statutory rape laws in Kansas and potential punishments

Rape. Any person in Kansas commits a rape crime when that person engages in sexual intercourse with any child below 14 years of age.

Indecent liberties with a child. As per laws prevalent in Kansas, an individual commits the crime of indecent liberties when that person engages in any sexual activity with any child who is a minimum 14 years old but under 16 years of age. This crime is punished much more severely in-case the child, and the defendant had engaged in any sexual intercourse.

Kansas Statutory Rape Law
Voluntary and unlawful sexual relations. A person resident in the state of Kansas and who engages in any voluntary sexual activity, including sodomy or sexual intercourse, with any child whose age is minimum 14 years but must be younger than 16 commits a less serious crime involving unlawful voluntary sexual relations at a time when:

  • the age of the defendant is younger than 19 years
  • the age gap between the defendant and the child is less than four years with the defendant being older or
  • the defendant and child being only individuals involved in this act

To give an example, an 18-year-old defendant who was engaged sexually with a 15-year-old could be tried for unlawful sexual relations and not of sodomy or indecent liberties.

Statutory Rape Law Kansas

Potential punishments for statutory rape in Kansas

Kansas judges have sole discretion when it comes to choosing a sentence based on the sentencing guidelines of the state. The prior criminal history of the defendant also plays a part.

Child rape or sodomy under 14 years of age is severity level 1 person felony in-case the defendant is below 18 years of age. It is punishable by any period from 147 months to 653 months incarceration and a monetary fine of a maximum of $300,000. If the defendant is above 18 years of age, or an off-grid person felony, the defendant could be given imprisonment for life or a fine of up to a maximum of $500,000.

The sodomy of any child aged between 14 years and 16 years constitutes severity level 3 person felony. It is punishable by any period between 55 months and 247 months inside a jail cell and also carries a fine of a maximum of $300,000. If there are instances of sexual intercourse, then the indecent liberties constitute a severity level 3, person felony.

The unlawful voluntary sexual relations, depending on sexual conduct involved, is level 8, level 9, or a level 10 person felony. It is punishable by a maximum 23 months term inside a prison cell.

Kansas Rape Laws

Kansas state accepts a number of defenses from an individual accused of statutory rape. Marriage is one defense to statutory rape or indecent liberties, or sodomy charge. Such a defense is a remnant of the marital rape exemption. The "Romeo and Juliet" exception is also cited if both partners are found to be underage. Kansas law does not exempt such conduct, but the punishment is less severe.

Kansas Sex Offender Search

Information about sex offenders in the United States is a matter of public record, so you can find out who has violated Kansas statutory rape laws, or other sex laws. This means that you can look up information about registered sex offenders in the state of Kansas, and find out if someone that you know is a registered sex offender in Kansas or in other states.

To perform the search, you can use an online public records search directory instead of contacting law enforcement agencies to get the desired information. To perform the search, you can use the website's criminal records query; enter the name of the person that you are searching into the directory. After you are finished, you will get a detailed account of the person's criminal past, including whether they have violated Kansas statutory rape laws.

GoLookUp also provides a wider search that allows you to find information about registered sex offenders in the state of Kansas and in other states. To perform the search, you need to enter the zip code that you are interested in. When the search is complete, you will get a report with the names of the sex offenders, their address, their mugshots, the sex crimes they committed, and more.