Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and its Punishments in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, the age of consent is 17 years. The age of consent is the lowest age at which a person is considered lawfully old enough to give their consent to take part in sexual activity. The state of Louisiana prohibits individuals who are sixteen or younger from giving their consent to participate in sexual activity.

If a person aged sixteen or younger takes part in sexual activity, then the person engaging in sexual activity with such minor will be prosecuted for statutory rape under Louisiana statutory rape laws.

Louisiana statutory rape law in Louisiana

It is illegal for a person to have sexual activity with anyone who is under the age of consent. The determining factor in such a case is the victim's age. It does not matter that the victim gave their consent or even initiated the sexual activity. Louisiana Statutory rape law, also known as carnal knowledge of a juvenile, states that a crime is committed when a person engages in sexual activity with a child who is younger than the age of consent.

Louisiana Statutory Rape Law

Statutory rape is not a violent crime because it does not involve the use of force. Most statutory rapes involve teenaged males taking part in consensual sexual activity with a fellow teenager who is under the lawful age of consent. Statutory rape invites both criminal as well as civil charges.

No close-in-age exceptions in Louisiana

Louisiana does not have any close-in-age exceptions. These close-in-age exceptions are often referred to as Romeo and Juliet laws that were enacted to prevent the prosecution of people engaging in consensual sexual activity in which both individuals are almost the same age and where either or both individuals are minors (sixteen or younger).

In the absence of Romeo and Juliet laws in Louisiana, when two individuals under the age of consent willingly having sexual intercourse, both can be prosecuted under the state’s Statutory Rape Laws. However, such instances occur very rarely. The state also does not provide any protection for sexual activity between two individuals in which one individual is seventeen years or older and the other is sixteen years old.

Statutory Rape Law Louisiana

The State of Louisiana has 9 statutory sexual abuse charges on its books which are used when prosecuting age of consent as well as child abuse related wrongdoings. These charges can be used to prosecute people violating the Louisiana Age of Consent law as statutory rape. The severity of the crime depends on the details of the crime and the relative ages of the offender and the victim.

Statutory rape law punishments in Louisiana

Statutory rape in Louisiana will be prosecuted under the state's rape, carnal knowledge, and sexual battery laws. Misdemeanor carnal knowledge crimes are punished by up to 6 months in prison, a fine of one thousand dollars, or both. Felony carnal knowledge crimes will be punished by up to 10 years in prison, with or without hard labor, and a fine of five thousand dollars, or both.

When a person is charged with indecent behavior with a juvenile, they face a prison sentence of up to 7 years, with or without hard labor, and a fine of five thousand dollars, or both. A person who is convicted for indecent behavior with a juvenile under the age of thirteen can be sentenced to 2 to 25 years in prison at hard labor.

Louisiana Rape Laws

If a person is convicted of 1st-degree rape in the state of Louisiana, they can be given a life sentence without parole at hard labor. If the crime committed by an individual is the sexual battery, then on conviction, they can be sentenced to up to 10 years in prison, with or without hard labor. Persons who have been convicted of sexual battery against a minor younger than thirteen years will face a sentence of between 25 and 99 years in prison at hard labor and they will be electronically monitored for the rest of their lives.

Louisiana Sex Offender Search

Under federal and Louisiana statutory rape laws, those who have committed sex crimes must register themselves as sex offenders. As a matter of public safety and as part of the Freedom of Information Act in the United States, records about registered sex offenders are available to the general public. So, you can find out who has violated Louisiana statutory rape laws by searching for public records. To find out who is a Louisiana registered sex offenders, you can go to the state's online sex offender directory.

You can also use GoLookUp's sex offender search directories that allow you to discover who is a sex offender in the state. The first directory is a criminal records search directory that details people's criminal history, including whether they are on a sex offender registry. GoLookUp also operates a zip code search directory that you can use to get full information about sex offenders in particular zip codes. After you enter a Louisiana zip code into the search engine, it will begin to scan public records about the said zip code. At the end of the query, you will be provided with a full list of registered sex offenders who live in the zip code in question, including their full names, mugshots, criminal history, distance from you, and much more.