Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and its Punishments in Michigan?

The statutory rape law applies in Michigan when the victim is under the age of 16. In Michigan, it is illegal to have sexual relations between teacher and student. Close in age exemptions are not applicable in this state of the U.S. This occurs when the accused and the victim are below 18 years and also of the same age. If two people, who are below 16, commit sexual intercourse, then both of them are subjected to the statutory rape law. This law is also called "Romeo and Juliet Law".

In Michigan, a 17-year-old can be considered a major legally, if and only if he or she does not live under the care of their respective parents or caretaker. However, the minor has to get his or her parent’s permission before they move out. By law, the teen must be above the age of 18 to legally move out with his or her parent’s permission.

Moreover, it is legal to get married in Michigan even at the age of 17, sometimes 15 years also. This is legal only if their respective parents or caretakers agree and give their consent to the marriage. Marriage, without the consent of their individual parents or caretakers, may end up in a statutory state rape crime, where two minors indulge in sexual conduct, and it may result in the imprisonment of both the minors.

Michigan Statutory Rape Law

The word rape is not used in Michigan, but it fines various crimes related to minors indulging or subjected to sex. Like in any other state, the criminal sexual conduct is a serious case and there are four degrees of law according to the type of case involved – 1st degree, 2nd degree, 3rd degree, and 4th degree.

According to Section 750.520b of the Michigan Penal Code, an accused is charged with 1st degree of criminal sexual conduct, when the victim is a between 13 and 16 years of age and when the victim lives in the same home as the accused, or the victim is a blood relation of the accused or if the accused has any other authority over the victim.

According to Section 750.520c of the Michigan Penal Code, an accused is charged with a 2nd degree of criminal sexual conduct, when he indulges himself in sexual contact with a victim who has the qualifications of a victim under the first-degree charge.

If the accused has no relation to the victim and when the victim is between 13 and 16 years of age, then the accused is charged with a 3rd degree of criminal sexual conduct. An accused is charged with the 4th degree of criminal sexual conduct when he has had any other sexual contact.

Punishment for the first-degree crime applies when the accused is 17 and above, and the victim is below the age of 13, then the sentence is imprisonment of 25 years maximum or when the accused is a major and the victim is 13 years and below, then the sentence is life imprisonment without parole.

Statutory Rape Law Michigan

Punishment for the second-degree crime applies when the victim is between the age of 13 and 16 years, and the sentence is imprisonment of 15 years maximum. Punishment for the third-degree crime applies when the victim is between the age of 13 and 16 years, and the sentence is imprisonment of 15 years maximum.

Punishment for the fourth degree applies when the victim is between the of 13 and 16 years, and the victim must be 5 years younger least, than the accused and the punishment is a sentence of imprisonment of 2 years and $500 as fine. These statutory rape laws come under the Michigan Comp. Laws Annexure 750.520b-e.

Michigan Sex Offender Search

Registered sex offenders who have violates Michigan statutory rape laws are registered as such in public records. This means that you can find out who is a registered sex offender in the state of Michigan by searching for public records. To make the Michigan sex offender search quick and easy, you can use an online public records search directory, like GoLooUp.

The website allows its users to perform a sex offender search in several different directories that you can use whenever you desire. The first type of search is a criminal records search directory where you will need to enter the name of a certain person. When the search is finished, you will get criminal records data about the person that you searched, including sex offender registries.

Another directory available on GoLookUp is the zip code search engine; when you enter a Michigan zip code into this directory, it will scan public records and provide you with a list of the sex offenders who live in that area. The list includes the names of the sex offenders, their mugshots, the crimes they committed, and more.