Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Mississippi

All States of the United States explicitly prohibit adults i.e., individuals aged 18 years or older, from having sex, attempting to have sex or seducing minors i.e., individuals aged below the prescribed age of consent as per Law. The consent of such a victim is immaterial, as Law sees minors as incapable of consent and any violation of this prohibition is deemed illegal.

If the act involves sexual penetration, then it is identified and prosecuted as the serious criminal offense of Statutory Rape. The minimum age of consent varies across States and ranges from 16 years to 18 years of an age whereby Mississippi has defined it as 16 years or older unless a female aged 15 years is legally permitted to marry upon parental consent which is mandated by law. Presently, the minimum age of consent is gender symmetric since sodomy gained legal status as a sexual act in 2003 barring the previously mentioned exception.

Mississippi Statutory Rape Law

The laws for statutory rape as enacted in Mississippi are codified under the Statutes mentioned in the Mississippi Code Annexure M.C.A. 97-3-65. As per this statute, statutory rape is the criminal offense involving sexual intercourse with a child other than the spouse if the perpetrator:

  • Is aged 17 years and the child is at least 36 months younger than the offender and aged between 14 to16 years. This is specified in subsection 1(a).
  • Is of any age and the child is at least 24 months younger than the offender and aged under 14 years. This is specified in subsection 1(b)

Additionally, subsection 4 clarifies that the use of force or any substance to induce stupor of mind or weakness of body or the inability to resist in a victim, even if he/she is a spouse, may also qualify for conviction under this statute apart from other applicable statutes of sexual assault.

Statutory Rape is classified as a strict liability crime and the consent, unawareness of the age of the victim or lack of chastity of the victim is inadmissible as an argument of innocence for the defendant during and after trial proceedings.

The aforesaid statute also incorporates the various penalties and exceptions pertaining to statutory rape conditional to the specific status of the defendant and the identification of the crime pursuant to the relevant subsection.

Statutory Rape Law Mississippi

If the offense   is identified under subsection 1(a) then the sentence upon conviction maybe:

  • Imprisonment of not more than 5 years or a fine of not more than $5000 or both, for a person aged between 18-21 years.
  • Imprisonment of not more than 30 years or a fine of not more than $10000 or both, for a person aged 21 years or older.
  • Imprisonment as determined by a court in its discretion, for a person aged between 13-18 years.

If the offense is identified under subsection 1(a) then the sentence upon conviction maybe:

  • Imprisonment of at least 20 years and at most life imprisonment, for a person aged 18 years or older.
  • Imprisonment as determined by a court in its discretion, for a person aged between 13-18 years.

Additionally, the Court may also issue a Criminal Assault Protection Order which forbids the convicted offender from any contact with the victim, irrespective of the relationship between them. This protection order shall remain in effect for a prescribed period as determined by the court or at least 2 years after completion of the prison term and subsequent to the period of parole, probation, community supervision or conditional release. Violation of the said order is punishable by an additional jail term of 6 months or a fine of $500 or both and the court is empowered to extend the prison term to 1 year.


Mississippi Rape Laws
Mississippi Sex Offender Search

As part of the Freedom of Information Act in the country, and as a matter of public safety, information about registered sex offenders is a matter of public record. So, if a person has violated Mississippi statutory rape laws, their sex offender registry is available through public records. So, to find out if someone that you know or do not know very well is a registered sex offender, you need to search for their public records. The easiest and quickest way to perform an online Mississippi sex offender search. With GoLookUp, you can search for sex offenders in the state, as well as in other states.

The website allows you to discover who is a registered sex offender in two ways. The first method is a wide zip-code search that provides information about entire areas. When using this directory, you need to enter a zip code that you have questions about; after you do, GoLookUp's quick search engine will scan public records and provide you with data about people who have violated Mississippi statutory rape laws in the said area, as well as other sex laws.

The zip code report includes the names of the sex offenders who live in that zip code, their mugshots, contact information, the offenses they have committed, their distance from you, and much more. You can also perform a narrower Mississippi sex offender search by using GoLookUp's criminal records search directory. When you enter a name into the directory, it will scan public records, and provide you with full public records data about the person in question, including their sex offender registry.