Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Missouri?

Rape is generally defined as sexual intercourse where one of the persons involved did not consent for it. Statutory rape provides for the scenario where the person involved is not capable of giving informed consent. It is a common understanding that 'children' are not capable of making informed decisions on matters like sex. In such a case, the law provides for an age below which one cannot legally consent to sex. Each country or state across the world has its own minimum age required for being able to give consent for sex legally.

Statutory rape doesn't usually involve force or threat but is seen as a crime on the basis that the person involved did not have the capability to give consent by a statue- hence the term statutory rape.

Missouri Statutory Rape Law

In Missouri, the minimum age for consent is 17 years. Individuals involving in sexual intercourse with a person of 16 years or younger will face prosecution under statutory rape.

First-Degree statutory rape is where someone engages in sexual intercourse or with someone less than 14 years of age, irrespective of the age of the defendant. This can lead to 5 years of imprisonment to life imprisonment if the child involved is less than 12 years old.

Second-Degree statutory rape is where a defendant is over the age of 21 and engages in sexual intercourse with someone less than 17 years of age. These come under class D felonies which can lead to 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

First-degree child molestation is described as a sexual offense against a person of fewer than 14 years of age, where the act seriously injures the child or involves threat. It is for when the defendant is a member of the child's family. This again comes under a class A felony which can lead up to the punishment of 10 to 30 years of prison, life imprisonment, and a fine of up to $10,000.

Statutory Rape Law Missouri

Second-degree child molestation includes:

i) sexual contact by the defendant of any age with a person less than 12 years of age and ii) sexual contact with someone below the age of 17 by a defendant more than at least four years of the said person. It is for when the defendant is a member of the child's family. This one comes under a class B felony and can lead up to 5-15 years of prison.

Third-degree child molestation is in regard to sexual contact by the defendant of any age with a person less than 14 years old. Being a class C felony, it can lead to 3 to 10 years of prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Fourth-degree child molestation is regarding sexual contact with someone below 17 years with a defendant at least 4 years older than the child. This comes under a class E felony and can lead to 4 years of imprisonment and a fine of $10,000.

Missouri does not legally permit any sexual relationships between a student and a teacher, and even holds sexual enticement of a child as a crime in the eyes of the law.

In any of the above cases, if the child is less than 12 years of age, the defendant is not eligible for any probation.

The only exceptions to the laws are when the defendant can significantly prove how they might have mistaken the age of the person, and the “Romeo- Juliet” exception where both the persons involved are below 17 years of age.

Missouri Rape Laws

Missouri Sex Offender Search

Information about registered Missouri sex offenders who have violated Missouri Statutory rape laws and other laws is available to the public. So, you can find out who is a registered Missouri sex offender by searching for public records about registered sex offenders. To perform the search, you no longer have to contact law enforcement agencies and inquire them about individuals. Instead, you can perform an online sex offender search by using GoLookUp.

To find out if a person that you know has violated Missouri statutory rape laws, you can use GoLookUp's criminal records directory. When using this search engine, you need to enter a name of a person; then, the directory will scan public records that are registered to the name of the person that you are searching, and provide you with a report about them. The report will include the identifying details of the said person, and their criminal history, including whether they violated Missouri statutory rape laws.

You can also use GoLookUp's zip code sex offender search directory. With this search engine, you need to enter a Missouri zip code of interest. Then, GoLookUp will scan public records in the said zip code, and it will provide you with a full list of all the sex offenders who live in that area.