Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Nevada

All States of the United States explicitly prohibit adults i.e., individuals aged 18 years or older, from having sex, attempting to have sex or seducing minors i.e., individuals aged below the prescribed age of consent as per Law. The age of consent may vary across States and ranges from 16 years to 18 years of age. Moreover, an act of sexual intercourse or sexual penetration with a minor is a serious criminal offense and the adult responsible for it is said to have committed statutory rape.

The basic principle of identifying statutory rape is that a minor is incapable of giving informed consent to sexual activities and the same premise has been codified in law. Historically, the age-of-consent laws were only applied when a female was younger than her male partner, but by 2015 ages of consent were made gender-symmetric since sodomy had already been legalized across all States of the U.S. by 2003.

Nevada Statutory Rape Law

In the State of Nevada, the age of consent is stipulated as 16 years and Statutory Rape is not the prescribed legal terminology. Instead, two statutes based on the common law definition of Statutory rape are stated under Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 200.364 section 10 as Statutory Sexual Seduction pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 200.366 and Sections 3,4 and 5 of Sexual Assault pursuant to NRS 200.366. Whereas NRS 200.366 elaborate on punishment and exceptions of Category A felonies, NRS 200.368 impresses upon Category B and lower felonies.

In NRS 200.366, Section 3 explicitly identifies sexual assault on a child under the age of 16 years as a Category A felony wherein serious bodily harm to the child may invite a sentence of life imprisonment without the possibility of parole. If the child does not suffer serious bodily harm, then a possibility of parole on completion of 25 years of the life sentence is permitted.

Section 4, on the other hand, prescribes punishments for persons who commit sexual assault on a child under the age of 16 years and are also previously convicted of sexual assault on a child, pursuant to charges under this section or any other Law or any other jurisdiction.

Statutory Rape Law Nevada
The punishment is incarceration for life in state prison without the possibility of parole. The only exception to the Statute is mentioned in Section 5 as anyone under the age of 18 years who is not more than 2 years older than the person on whom the act was committed unless the person committing the act used physical force or is well aware that the victim is physically and mentally incapable of understanding and/or resisting the nature of the perpetrator’s conduct.

NRS 200.368 is a statue dedicated to punishments Statutory Sexual Seduction which is defined in NRS 200.364 as sexual intercourse and sexual penetration by any person aged 18 years or older, with a person who is 14 or 15 years of age and who is at least 4 years younger than the perpetrator. The penalties of such a crime differ on the basis of age and previous criminal history of the offender.

If the person is under 21 years of age, it is a gross misdemeanor with jail time of not more than 364 days and/or a fine not exceeding $2000 unless the offender is also a repeat offender with prior record of sexual offenses, wherein the crime is classified as a Class D Felony and the stipulated punishment is incarceration of 1 to 4 years with/without a penalty of $5,000. If he/she is  21 years of age or older at the time of the offense, it is a Category B felony with imprisonment for 1 to 10 years and/or an additional fine of up to $10,000.

It is pertinent to also be aware that Statutory Rape is a crime of "Strict Liability" and the accused may be found guilty of the offense despite his/her unawareness of the actual age of the victim.

Nevada Rape Laws

Nevada Sex Offender Search

Public records in the United States provide vital information to the public, like who is a registered sex offender. So, by searching for public records, you can find out who has violated Nevada statutory rape laws and other sex laws in the state/country. The quickest way to find Nevada statutory rape laws violations is by performing an online registered sex offender search. GoLookUp provides access to millions of public records in the country, including sex offender registries, so you can use is to find out who committed sex crimes.

To do so, you can use the website's criminal records directory, that provides information based on names. When you enter a name into this search engine, the website will immediately scan public records, and it will provide you with a report about that person within minutes. In the report, you will review the person's criminal history, including whether they are a registered sex offender.

Another way to find Nevada statutory rape laws violations is to use GoLookUp's zip code search engine. With this directory, you need to enter a zip code that you are interested in knowing more about. When the search is complete, you will get a list of the sex offenders who live in the area in question, including their names, the sex crimes they committed, their mugshots, address, contact information, and more.