Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in New Jersey?

It is illegal for any adult (any person 18 or older) in New Jersey to engage in sex with any minor (any person not yet reached 18 years of age) even if the sex can be considered consensual. Any person who breaks this law has committed the crime of statutory rape.

The laws on statutory rape are based on the critical assumption that minors cannot give informed consent when it comes to sexual activities. This incapacity is incorporated into this stature-giving rise to the term statutory rape. As per law, statutory rape does not need for the prosecutor to prove it is an assault.

It will still be regarded as rape. It is to be mentioned that rape which does involve assault or force is considered illegal in the state of New Jersey and will be prosecuted under forcible rape. Any assault of sexual nature could be charged as per the New Jersey's child enticement, assault, and battery, or child molestation laws. This is different from marital rape laws.

New Jersey Statutory Rape Law

Statutory rape law and punishments in New Jersey

In the US state of New Jersey, statutory rape can be prosecuted as per the state's sexual assault laws. The penalties depend on the ages of the victim and the defendant. The conduct which has occurred also influences the subsequent part.

Aggravated sexual assault. This includes any sexual penetration (including oral or genital, and includes anal sex or even slight penetration with any body part or any object) between any minor aged below 13 years and the defendant who could be of any age. This particular offense is regarded as a first-degree crime. It can be punished by a minimum of 15 years in jail or a life term in maximum. It also carries a monetary fine up to $200,000. Both jail time and fine could be imposed on the defendant.

Sexual assault includes any sexual contact (includes sexual touching, and over the clothing in a sexually gratifying or arousing manner) between any minor younger than 13 years old and any defendant who is minimum four years older compared to the victim. The crime includes sexual penetration between any minor who is 13 years old, 14 years old, or 15 years old, and any defendant who is minimum four years elder to the victim.

Statutory Rape Law New Jersey
Such an offense is regarded as a second-degree crime. It is punishable by anywhere from five years prison time to 10 years inside a jail cell. It also carries a fine of maximum m$150,000. The punishment could also be both jail time and monetary fines.

Criminal sexual contact activity includes sexual contact between any minor who is 13 years old, 14 years old, or 15 years old, and any defendant who is minimum four years elder to the victim. Such an offense is considered a fourth-degree crime. It can be punished by up to a maximum of 18 months in a prison cell, or the convict may have to pay a maximum $10,000 fine. The punishment can also be both.

Sex offender registration in New Jersey

As per state law, other than the prison time and applicable fines, any person who is convicted of specific sexual crimes (which includes statutory rape) must be registered as sex offenders. All defendants slapped with statutory rape have usual defenses available like naming some other person as the perpetrator of the crime or the non-occurrence of the alleged crime. One or multiple cases of this sort could be applied. The Alaska state has a marital exemption from statutory rape if that permits sex between a married minor and the adult spouse of the minor.

New Jersey Rape Laws

New Jersey Sex Offender Search

If you want to find out who has violated New Jersey statutory rape laws, you can use an online search directory, like GoLookUp. The search engine can perform a quick New Jersey sex offender search, so you do not need to contact law enforcement agencies to find out who has violated New Jersey statutory rape laws.

The website offers two types of sex offenders searches – a name-based criminal records' search, and a zip code-based directory. With the first type of search, you need to enter the name of the person that you have a question about. Then, the search engine will begin to scan public records to discover if they are New Jersey registered sex offenders.

With the second type of search, you need to enter a New Jersey zip code into GoLookUp's directory. When you do, the search engine will begin to scan public records to find all the sex offenders who live in that particular area. In both cases, the search takes several minutes, so you will get sex offender reports about people in New Jersey. The public records scan will provide you with information about New Jersey registered who have violated New Jersey statutory rape laws, and additional sex laws.