Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213
What Is Statutory Rape Law and Its Punishments in North Dakota?

Statutory rape law in North Dakota is violated when an individual engages in sexual intercourse, albeit consensual with a person whose age is less than 18 years.


Consenting age in North Dakota

Consenting age in the state of North Dakota is applicable for people who are 18 years old. In fact, the consenting age in America has been defined as the minimum age of a person when she/he is regarded old enough in the eyes of the law to give consent for engaging in sexual activity. People who are 17-year-old or younger in this state cannot give legal consent to participating in sexual activity. Also, such activities can lead to being prosecuted for charges of statutory rape. 

No close-in-age exemption in North Dakota

Also referred to as “Romeo and Juliet laws," the close-in-age exemption is not applicable in the state of North Dakota. Typically this exemption is placed to stop prosecuting those individuals who do not have much of an age difference between them and participate in sexual activities. Out of both these partners, one participant is below the legal consenting age. 

North Dakota Statutory Rape Law

As the state has not implemented this particular exemption, there is a possibility to prosecute two persons for charges of statutory rape when both of them are less than 18-year-old and willingly participate in sexual intercourses. However, such scenarios are very rare. Likewise, there is no legal protection in those sexual relationships wherein one of the parties is 17-year-old while the other participant's age is between 18-19 years. 

Defense availability for the mistake of age

Many perpetrators who are charged with statutory rape frequently insist that they were unaware of the fact that their partner did not attain adulthood. Contrary to several other states in America, North Dakota enables mistake of age as a defense to the defendant being prosecuted on account of statutory rape in specific scenarios. 

In case the age of the minor is at least 15 years, the court may believe that the defendant had reasons to believe that the minor was an adult. On the other hand, when the child's age is 14 years or less than that, mistake or ignorance related to the age of the child cannot be a defense in North Dakota. 

Statutory Rape Law North Dakota

Potential penalties for violation of statutory rape laws in North Dakota

Penalties for statutory rape is dependent on both the victim, as well as the perpetrator's ages along with the nature of the conduct, which took place as stated below:

Gross sexual imposition refers to sexual acts such as penetration albeit slight, anal, genital, or oral sex or sexual contact like touching although done over the clothing. The act should be against a minor whose age is less than 15 years.

An offense that involves a perpetrator whose age is a minimum of 22 years indulges in a sexual act results in a felony of class AA. There is a penalty of a minimum imprisonment term of 5 years and a back mum of life stance. Else, the crimes fall within the category of class A felony and have a penalty of up to 20 years behind bars, a fine amount, which can be a maximum of 20, 000 USD, or a combination of both. 

North Dakota Rape Laws

A minor is corrupted when their age is between 15 to 17 years and participates in a sexual act with a perpetrator who has a minimum age of 18 years. However, the offense belongs to a misdemeanor of class A, when the age of the defendant is less than 22 while the crime took place. Punishments can be a maximum of one year sentence behind the bars or a fine that can go up to 3,000 USD or even a combination of both.

North Dakota Sex Offender Search

Information about registered sex offenders in the country is available under public safety and the Freedom of Information Act. Every state has registered sex offenders who live in it, so you can find out who are the registered North Dakota sex offenders; to perform such a search, you can use online directories, like GoLookUp. You can perform an online search on entire areas and on individuals with the following directories:

1. Zip code search – if you want to find out who are the registered sex offenders in certain North Dakota neighborhoods and areas, you can use GoLookUp's zip code sex offender search. To perform the search, you need to enter the zip code of interest into the directory. Then, a search will begin, and you will get a list of the sex offenders who live in the zip code, including their location, name, mugshots, and more.

2. Criminal records search – with this type of directory, you need to enter the name of a person. When the search is complete, you will get a criminal records' report about the person in question, including sex offender registries.