Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Rhode Island

Have you been accused of statutory rape in the state of Rhode Island? What exactly does statutory rape mean and what exactly are the legal consequences of committing the act? How does the law define statutory rape in Rhode Island?

Statutory rape is defined as sexual activities between an adult of 18 years and older and someone under the age of consent of 16 years. While the term refers to adults having sex with minors below the age of consent, very few jurisdictions will use the language and terms of statutory rape. In Rhode Island, the law defines statutory rape as "third-degree sexual assault". Several states use various terms for crimes such as corruption of a minor, rape of children, unlawful carnal information, or just carnal information.

Rhode Island Statutory Rape Law

Statutory rape vs forcible rape in Rhode Island

Statutory rape is different than forcible rape in that threat or force not being present. Regardless, statutory rape will usually not include the consent element. However, the law motions a minor is not legally allowed to give their consent to this act. Comparatively speaking, other rape charges are offered once a person forces other people to have sex with them.

Statutory rape laws in Rhode Island were created in protecting America's youth that is vulnerable. The original purpose of the law was protecting young unwed women from adult men who may try to impregnate them and not provide support for the child. The understanding of statutory rape laws is in preserving the marriageability of unwed women and curbing teenage pregnancies.

Rhode Island law defines one degree of child molestation sexual assault – first degree with associated punishments. The degree of the crime is dependent upon specifics of each crime with higher degrees of the charge receiving harsher punishments. The severity being a felony, child molestation sexual assault is a first-degree charge when offenders engage in sex with a minor aged 14 and younger.

Statutory Rape Law Rhode Island

Rhode Island law permits child molestation sexual assault – first degree to be enforced as statutory charges. This means the charge is applied to cases where the victim is younger than the age of consent in Rhode Island, even when the victim is willingly engaging in sexual relations with the defendant. Child molestation sexual assault is a charge unique to Rhode Island. Crimes that are prosecuted as child molestation sexual assault get prosecuted under different statutes according to the state in which the crime took place.

The age of consent in Rhode Island

The age of consent is different in each American state. In Rhode Island, the age of consent is sixteen. Age of consent refers to the age that an individual with the mental capacity to understand the consequences of their actions provides permission prior to sex. Various states specify a minimum age difference for the punishment and judgment to be meted. In Rhode Island, an individual is guilty of statutory rape if they are over the age of eighteen with the victim being between fourteen and under the age of consent that is sixteen. The exact statute is defined as "a man or woman is guilty of third-degree sexual assault if they are past eighteen years of age and engaging in sexual intercourse with another individual over the age of fourteen years and below the consenting age.”

Penalties for statutory rape in Rhode Island stand at five years in prison. There is zero age difference in Rhode Island; the individual is guilty based purely on the fact they are over 18 years old with the victim being 14 to 15 years old.

Rhode Island Rape Laws
Rhode Island Sex Offender Laws

In the past, you would have had to contact official authorities and ask about Rhode Island registered sex offenders. Nowadays, you can perform an online sex offender search and find out who has violated Rhode Island statutory rape laws. With GoLookUp, you can perform an online query to find registered sex offenders in the state of Rhode Island.

If you want to perform a search in a particular person, you can use the website's criminal records search directory. With this type of search, all you have to do is enter the name of the person that you are searching in the search field. With the second type of search, you need to enter a Rhode Island zip code into the GoLookUp directory.

In both directories, the search engine on GoLookUp will aggregate information from public records, and it will produce a report about people who have violated Rhode Island sex offender laws and other sex laws in the state. The difference between the two directories is that the zip code search provides a report with the names, mugshots, criminal records, and other public records data about all the sex offenders who live in a certain area. The second type of directory provides information about a single person, so you can choose the directory that you want based on your needs.