Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in Washington

It is illegal in Washington to have sex with any individual under the age of 16. The state of Washington has laid down the law that sixteen will be the age of consent and this is the minimum age, under Washington Statutory Rape Laws, at which an individual is deemed to be old enough to give their consent legally to participate in sexual activities.

Any individual who is fifteen years of age or younger is not deemed to be fit to legally give their assent for sexual activity and such activity would result in prosecution under Washington state’s statutory rape law. This law is violated when an individual participates in sexual intercourse with anyone under the age of sixteen.

Washington Statutory Rape Laws Exception

There is an exception to this law in that if the participants are a foster parent and a foster child in which case the age of consent is raised to 18 years. However, even in this case, the older partner needs to be at least five years older than the partner aged 16 or 17.

Washington Statutory Rape Law

No Romeo and Juliet law in Washington

Washington also does not have Romeo And Juliet law or the close-in-age exemption. This law was enacted to prevent individuals engaging in consensual sexual activity from being prosecuted when both partners are more or less the same age as each other, and when one of the partners is below the age of consent.

The absence of a Romeo and Juliet law in the state of Washington means that when two individuals (both under the age of consent) participate in sexual intercourse, then both can be prosecuted under the state's statutory rape law. However, such instances almost never happen. Also, there is no protection offered to individuals participating in sexual relations in which one partner is only fifteen years old, and the other is sixteen or seventeen years old.

Washington Statutory Rape Laws Punishments

Statutory rape violations are prosecuted under the state's rape and child molestation laws. The level of punishment meted out to offenders depends on the type of sexual contact and the age of the participants.

Statutory Rape Law Washington

First-degree rape of a child takes place when sexual intercourse takes place between an individual who is not more than 11 years of age and the offender who is at least 2 years older than the minor. Such an offense is deemed to be a Class A felony and invites a prison sentence of up to life, a fine can also be levied of up to fifty thousand dollars or both.

Second-degree rape of a child takes place when sexual intercourse takes place between a fourteen or fifteen-year-old minor and an offender who is at least 4 years older than the minor. Such offense is classified as a Class C felony and invites a prison term of up to 5 years, a fine may also be levied of up to 10, 000 dollars, or both.

A class A felony also takes place when sexual contact is made between minors not older than 11 years and an offender who is at least 3 years older than the minor. Such an offense invites a prison sentence of up to life, a fine can also be levied of 50, 000 dollars, or both.

Washington Rape Laws

A class B felony takes place when sexual contact is made between a minor of age 12 or 13 and an offender who is at least 3 years older than the minor. This offense is punished by a prison sentence of up to 10 years and fine can also be levied of 20, 000 dollars, or both.

Finally, there is a Class C felony that takes place when sexual contact is made between a fourteen or fifteen-year-old minor and an offender who is at least 4 years older than the minor. This offense invites a prison term of up to 5 years and a fine of up to 10, 000 dollars, or both.

Washington Sex Offender Search

Individuals who violate Washington Statutory rape laws must register themselves as sex offenders in the state of Washington, as well as other states that they move to. When a person registers as a sex offender, the information about their registry becomes available to the public. This means that you are able to discover who is a registered sex offender in the state of Washington. To perform such a search, you can use an online sex offender search directory that will provide you with access to public records. The state of Washington operates an online sex offender search directory, so you can use it to discover who is a registered sex offender in the state.

Another online sex offender search is GoLookUp, where you can find full information about sex offenders in any state. To perform the search, you can use the site's criminal records directory that will scan public records based on a name that you provide.

You can also use GoLookUp's zip code search directory that will provide you with information about all the registered sex offenders in a particular Washington area.