Employment Laws: What are the Employment Laws in the State of Utah?
Below is an exhaustive look at the various employment laws in the U.S. state of Utah.
Minimum wage in Utah
The current minimum wage in the state of Utah is $7.25.
The Utah minimum wage laws give the Utah Labour Commission the authority to set the minimum wage rate. However, the Utah Labour Commission may decide not to set the minimum wage limit higher than the federal minimum wage rate as per the Fair Labour Standards Act. When reviewing the minimum wage, the Labour Commission may:
- Review the wage rate at any time;
- Review the wage rate at least once every three years;
- Review the wage rate whenever the federal minimum wage rates change.
The Utah minimum wage laws exempt all employees who are entitled to minimum wage under the Fair Labour Standards Act. And because most Utah employees are subject to the Fair Labour Standards Act, the provisions of Utah’s minimum wage laws do not apply to most employees working in the state of Utah.
Meals and Breaks in Utah
As per Utah labor laws, employers are required to provide their employees who are under the age of 18 a meal break of at least thirty minutes, if they work continuously for five hours or more. Employers must provide their employees who are under the age of 18 a rest break of at least ten minutes for every three hours or part thereof that they work.
For employees who are 18 years of age and older, the Utah labor laws state that employers have to provide breaks, including lunch breaks to them. An employer does not have to pay wages to his employees for lunch or other breaks if the break time is more than twenty minutes and if the employee has been given permission to leave the workplace, or does not perform any work during their lunchtime or break. According to federal laws, breaks of twenty minutes or shorter must be paid.
Leaves in Utah
- Vacation Leave
In the state of Utah, it is not mandatory for employers to provide their employees with vacation leaves, whether paid or unpaid. However, if an employer chooses to give such leaves or benefits, it must be per the terms and conditions of the internally established policies or the employment contract.
- Sick Leave
The employment laws of the state of Utah do not require employers to give their employees sick leave benefits, whether paid or unpaid. But if an employer chooses to provide his employees sick leave benefits, they must be under the terms and conditions of the internally established policies or the employment contract.
If an employer in the state of Utah provides his employees with unpaid sick leave, it should be following the provisions of the Family and Medical Leave Act or other federal laws.
- State holidays
There is a list of holidays that the state of Utah recognizes and observes. There is also information regarding Utah state laws governing holiday leaves for public employers and employees available online.
- Jury Duty Leave
An employer in the state of Utah is not required to pay his employees for any time spent performing jury duty or serving on a jury or responding to a jury summons.
An employer cannot threaten, discharge, coerce, or take any adverse action against an employee in terms of his employment because the employee received and responded to a summon, served as a juror, or attended a court of law for the prospective jury.
- Voting leave
Utah employment laws require employers to provide employees up to two hours of paid leave to vote. That is if the employee does not have three or more consecutive off hours during which he has to vote while the polls are open. An employer may order when an employee is allowed to take paid voting leave.