What are the Utah Labor Laws?
If you are working in the state of Utah, it is essential for you to know the federal and state laws that govern your working principles. However, state laws in Utah provide greater protection to working employees than federal law in areas such as health care.
An employer in Utah, in addition to following federal and state law, has to follow municipal laws about the employer-employee relationship. This article will give you all the information you would require to know regarding labor laws in Utah.
Anti-discrimination laws in Utah
Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964, which is a federal law, prohibits employers in discrimination on the grounds of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, and genetic information. This act also prohibits employers from harassing their employees. Employers in Utah who have at least 15 employees are subject to these laws, and for the law prohibiting age discrimination, employers with at least 20 employees must adhere to the law.
In addition to the above laws, laws in Utah also prohibit discrimination regarding job listings, hiring decision, interviews, layoffs, promotion, compensation, and termination. Also, sexual harassment or any kind of harassment on the grounds of ethnicity or race is strictly prohibited.
Equal pay in Utah
In jobs of comparable work, Utah has laws prevent employers to pay females lesser than males relating to skill and responsibility with an exception only based on the merit system and seniority system.
Wage and labor in Utah
Regarding minimum wage, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the minimum wage and working hours that employers must adhere to. Employers are guided by law to pay the highest minimum wage to employees which is $7.25 an hour in Utah. However, for tipped employees, the minimum wage can be less as long as the total tips add up to $7.25 an hour.
Regarding overtime in Utah, if employees work more than 40 hours in a week, the employer must pay overtime for time and a half times for all the extra hours of work.
Leave laws in Utah
In Utah, benefits such as paid leave, sick leave, holidays and paid time off (PTO) are discretionary. However, unpaid leaves can be issued by employers such as:
Family and medical leave- the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that requires employers who have a workforce of at least 50 members to issue employees up to twelve weeks of unpaid leave each year in the case of illness or caregiving issues.
Military leave- under the federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), employers must grant or allow employees to take leave from work for any federal or state military service or duty.
Military family leaves- FMLA identifies the right of eligible employees may take up to 26 weeks off in a single year for caregiving a family member who was injured on military duty.
Voting- employees in Utah are subject to take paid off at least 2 hours from work for casting their votes.
Jury duty- employees in Utah are guided by law to take leave for jury duty.
Compensation and safety laws
The Occupational Safety and Health Act, which is a federal law, requires employers in Utah to provide a safe workplace and a non-hazardous working environment.
If employees feel that their employees have committed safety violations, then they have the right to ask for an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) inspection.
Leaving a job in Utah
Employees in Utah can leave their job at their own will. However, employees cannot be handed a pink slip for discriminatory reasons.