Below is a comprehensive outline of the employment laws in the state of Vermont
Minimum wage in Vermont
The current minimum wage in the state of Vermont is $10.78.
From January 1st, 2019, and every subsequent year thereof, the Vermont minimum wage laws require that the minimum wage undergoes an annual review.
Employers in the state of Vermont must also comply with the minimum wage laws of the federal government. The federal laws currently set the minimum wage rate at $7.25.
If a Vermont employer decides to pay his employees a minimum wage, it should be by either federal or state minimum wage laws, that a higher wage rate has to be paid to employees.
Overtime laws in Vermont
The employment laws in the state of Vermont require employers to pay their employees overtime wages unless they are otherwise exempted. This will be at a rate of 1½ times the regular wage rate of the employee and for all excess hours worked beyond 40 hours in one week.
Meals and breaks in Vermont
As per the employment laws in the state of Vermont, an employer must provide his employees with “reasonable opportunity” to nourish himself and use the restroom facilities, in the interest of his health and hygiene. As per the provisions of federal law, meal breaks have to be paid for especially if they last up to or less than 20 minutes. Meal breaks or lunch breaks that last for 30 minutes or more do not have to be paid. This is as long as the employee is given the complete freedom to do whatever they want during the lunch break or meal break.
Leaves in Vermont
In the state of Vermont, the employment laws state that employers in Vermont do not necessarily need to give their employees vacation leaves whether paid or unpaid. However, if the employer chooses to provide his employees such vacation benefits, then it must be following the terms and conditions of the internally established policies or the contract of employment.
An employer in Vermont must pay his employee for any accrued vacation leave once the employee leaves the job if the terms and conditions of the internal policies or employment contract provide for the same.
The employment laws in the state of Vermont states that employers must provide their employees with sick leaves. And if an employer provides his employees with sick leave benefits, they must be under the terms and conditions of the internally established policies or the contract of employment.
Employers in the state of Vermont may be required to provide their employees with unpaid sick leave but only per the terms and conditions of the Vermont Parental and Family Leave Laws, the Medical Leave and Federal Family Act and other federal laws.
The U.S. state of Vermont employment laws states that private employers are not required to provide their employees with holiday leave whether paid or unpaid. In the state of Vermont, an employee can be requested by a private employer to work even on holidays. But a private employer in Vermont does not have to pay his employee a premium, i.e.1½ times the regular wage rate, if he works on holidays, unless the time that the employee has worked is overtime under the standard Vermont overtime laws. If an employer wishes to provide either paid or unpaid holiday leave, it must be following the terms and conditions of the internally established policies or the contract of employment entered into between the employer and the employee.
The state of Vermont recognizes and observes a list of state holidays. There is also information regarding the state laws governing holiday leaves for Vermont public employees and employers.
Jury Duty leave
Vermont employment laws state that an employer does not have to pay his employee for any time spent serving on a jury or responding to a jury summons.