What are the Virginia Labor Laws?
In the USA, both federal and state laws protect the workers from every dimension in the entire working procedure. If you are working in the state of Virginia, it is essential for you to know the federal and state laws that govern your working principles. However, state laws in Virginia provide greater protection to working employees than federal law in areas such as health care.
An employer in Virginia, in addition to following federal and state law, has to follow municipal laws concerning the employer-employee relationship. Here you will get all the necessary information you would require to know regarding labor laws in Virginia.
Anti-discrimination laws in Virginia
The Civil Rights Act of 1964, which is a federal law, prohibits employers in discrimination on the grounds of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, and genetic information. This act also prohibits employers from harassing their employees. Employers in Virginia who have at least 15 employees are subject to these laws, and for the law prohibiting age discrimination, employers with at least 20 employees must adhere to the law.
In addition to the above laws, laws in Virginia also prohibit discrimination regarding job listings, hiring decision, interviews, layoffs, promotion, compensation, and termination. Also, sexual harassment or any bullying on the grounds of ethnicity or race is strictly prohibited.
Equal pay in Virginia
In jobs of comparable work, Virginia has laws prevent employers from paying females lesser than males relating to skill and responsibility with an exception only based on the merit system and seniority system.
Wage and labor in Virginia
Regarding minimum wage, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the minimum wage and working hours that employers must adhere to. Employers are guided by law to pay the highest minimum wage to employees which is $7.25 an hour in Virginia.
Regarding overtime in Virginia, if employees work more than 40 hours in a week, the employer must pay overtime for time and a half times for all the extra hours of work.
Leave laws in Virginia
In Virginia, benefits such as paid leave, sick leave, holidays and paid time off (PTO) are discretionary. However, unpaid leaves can be issued by employers such as:
Military leave- both the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), which is a federal law and Virginia law require employers to grant their employees leave from work for federal or state military service or duty. Employees in Virginia, who are members of the National Guard, state militia, or state defense force are required to be granted unpaid leave by their employers if they are called upon by the Governor to active duty. In this case, they may not use benefits such as paid time off for taking this leave.
Family and medical leave- the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that requires employers who have a workforce of at least 50 members to issue employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid vacation every year in the case of illness or caregiving issues.
Voting- employees in Virginia are subject to take paid off at least 2 hours from work for casting their votes.
Jury duty- employees in Virginia are guided by law to take leave for jury duty.
Compensation and safety laws in Virginia
The Occupational Safety and Health Act, which is a federal law, requires employers in Virginia to provide a safe workplace and a non-hazardous working environment.
If employees feel that their employees have committed safety violations, then they have the right to demand an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) inspection.
In Virginia, if you suffer from on-the-job injury, you will be getting a worker’s compensation.
Leaving a job in Virginia
Employees in Virginia can leave their job at their own will. However, employees cannot be fired for discriminatory reasons.