Employment Laws: What are Employment Laws in Wisconsin?
The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development has administered many labor standard laws that vary in their coverage as well as their requirements.
Employers are covered in the standards and can be subjected to similar federal laws and regulations. These cases may contain different requirements, and in such cases, the state laws are more stringent than the federal rules.
Minimum Wage Laws in Wisconsin
The Laws for minimum wages in the state of Wisconsin are $7.25. This law applies to all employers irrespective of if they are in the public or private sector. A separate minimum wage law exists for those employees that receive a tip or gratuities from the patrons. These wages need to be paid in accordance to the schedule for a tipped employee if the employer can establish that at the end of the pay period the total wages with tips is equal to the general minimum wage rate.
Any deductions made for boarding and lodging vary with the type of employment however they come with limitations.
Overtime Laws in Wisconsin
Unless exempt an employer will have to pay overtime for any employee that is working for more than 40 hours in a week.
Meals and Breaks in Wisconsin
The Labor Laws in Wisconsin state that the employer is required to provide their employees that are under the age of 18 at least 30 minutes period for meals that are duty-free if they work for more than six hours at a stretch. Wisconsin does not require an employer to provide breaks for meals for those over 18 years of age. The employer who chooses to give a break of more than 30 minutes does not need to pay wages for this period. Any break lasting less than 30 minutes needs to be paid.
The one day rest in seven law in Wisconsin states that employers that are operating factories or mercantile establishments would need to provide their employees with at the least one day that is 24 hours of consecutive rest for every calendar week.
Leave Laws in Wisconsin
The Wisconsin Labor Law does not require an employer to provide paid or unpaid vacation benefits to their employees. At the same time, they are not required to give their employees paid or unpaid leaves when they are sick, have to respond to jury duty, or other holidays.
The law only requires that an employee is given up to 3 hours of leave for the employer to vote.
Termination Laws in Wisconsin
Unless the termination of employment is covered under the Business Closing Law, there are no other notices required.
The Business closing law states that any employer that has 50 or more employees that have decided to conduct closure of business or mass layoff would need to give at the least 90 days of notice to the DWD.
Penalties in Wisconsin
Some penalties are associated with the violation of labor laws and rules. Generally, the violators are assessed between $10 and $100 a day for every day of the breach of the standard laws. If there has been a failure in the attempts to resolve labor standards the Wisconsin Department of Justice can seek the penalties in court.
An employer can also be penalized if a minor is working in their establishment without a work permit or if their employment violates any of the minor regulations
In cases where the minor has been injured or died during their work, the employer is liable to pay double the compensation.