What are Alabama Labor Laws?
Alabama is one of those few states which does not have a minimum wage rate. Both employees and employers must follow the FLSA Act. The labor laws in Alabama refers to the laws applicable in the state. The FLSA includes minimum wage as determined by the federal law. The United States has fixed a certain minimum federal wage.
Overtime and break periods in Alabama
The labor laws in Alabama have no reference to governing payment linked to overtime. Only federal overtime laws can be applied. The problem begins as a few unscrupulous employers try to evade Alabama employee rights by hiring workers as salaried employees. They are not hired as per hour basis. Employees who have found that their employers have violated a number of overtime laws could take multiple actions to protect their rights.
Definite laws are present when it comes to breaking periods during a day's work. The Alabama state needs employees of ages 14 years and 15 years to enjoy a 30 minute rest period or meal after working a continuous period of five hours. However, no such laws exist for employees above 16 years of age or older. There is no mention of any lunch or food break. The federal law rule demands that the employer must offer a rest period or a lunch break. Most employers offer breaks and meal times. A business must have a paid rest period as long as it is 30 minutes or less. Breaks could be unpaid if the rest period is longer than that.
Vacation times in Alabama
Alabama laws do not need employers to offer unpaid or paid vacation leaves. Majority of the employers offers vacation leave as part of the benefits package to attract potential employees. When they do so, the company must comply with the stated policy or employment contract. The employer, however, could legally establish any contract or policy which particularly states that a particular employee or employees are disqualified from any accrued vacation time in case they are sacked or they quit of their own accord.
Any company could also write policies which disqualify their workers from getting compensated when it comes to accrued vacation time if the employee concerned fails to satisfy a few requirements, like offering notice of two weeks when they quit their job. In the case of employers whose company policy clearly states that the accrued vacation leave must compulsorily be paid to the employee upon separation from that company, the concerned employer should follow the employment contract or the policy. Failing in such a task goes against the law.
Sick and holiday leave in Alabama
When it comes to sick leaves, Alabama labor laws do not mention the employers to offer workers unpaid or paid any sick leave benefits. The Alabama employer, however, may permit its employee to opt for unpaid such leave as per the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Other similar federal laws are also applicable in these cases. For the companies which provide employees with the relevant sick leaves, all actions must be in accordance with the employment contract or company policy. Even though the employer is not needed by the state laws to pay any accrued sick leave time to the workers in-case they are sacked or quit off their own, the companies should refer to their policies and act in the prescribed manner.
When it comes to holiday leaves the labor laws in Alabama does not require the private companies to offer their workers either unpaid or paid holiday leaves. The private employer can insist on the employee to work on holidays too in the state. There is also no compulsion for the employer to pat the employee any sort of premium holiday pay.