Minnesota Gun Law: What are the Gun Laws in the State of Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota in the United States is governed by strict gun laws that regulate the possession, sale, transfer, and use of ammunition and firearms within the state.
Below is a brief look at the various laws/subjects of gun laws in the state of Minnesota and the relevant statutes for the same –
Whether a state permit is required to purchase guns in Minnesota
No state permit is required for the purchase of long guns in Minnesota, but a state permit is required for the purchase of handguns. A permit to purchase is required for the transfer/purchase of long guns with a pistol grip and handguns acquired/transferred through FFL dealers. A permit to carry also acts as a permit to purchase for the residents of Minnesota. No purchase permit is required for the purchase of traditional rifles and shotguns.
Registration of firearms in Minnesota
Both long guns and handguns do not require registration in the state of Minnesota.
Assault weapon laws in Minnesota
No assault weapon laws apply to long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota. Persons who are 18 years of age and older having a permit to purchase may purchase assault weapons. (or permit to carry for persons 21 years and older).
Magazine capacity restriction in Minnesota
There is no magazine capacity restriction for long guns and handguns in the U.S. state of Minnesota.
Whether the owner license is required
Owner license is not required for long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota.
Whether a permit is required for concealed carry
Permit for concealed carry does not apply to long guns. But a permit for concealed carry applies to handguns. Minnesota is a “Shall Issue” state. A Minnesota ‘Permit to Carry a Pistol’ is required to carry handguns in a concealed manner. Concealment, although not required, is permitted.
Whether a permit is required for open carry
For both long guns and handguns, a permit is required for open carry in the U.S. state of Minnesota. Carrying a firearm openly without a permit in the state of Minnesota without a valid permit is an offense and is punishable by law with heavy fines/penalties.
State pre-emptions of local restrictions
State pre-emptions of local restrictions apply to both long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota. Minnesota municipalities have the power to regulate the discharge of firearms used within their borders.
NFA weapons restrictions in Minnesota
NFA weapons restrictions apply to both long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota. Short-barrelled guns and machine guns, unless designated as ‘Curios & Relics,' are prohibited in most cases. Some destructive devices are prohibited as well in most cases. However, short-barrelled rifles and sound suppressors are legal in the state of Minnesota.
Peaceable journey laws
Peaceable journey laws apply to both long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota. Any gun that is legally possessed may be transported in a motor vehicle, provided it is unloaded and cased.
Whether background checks are required for private sales
Background checks are not required for the private sale of long guns and handguns in the state of Minnesota.
Other regulations governing permit to carry in Minnesota
- The Minnesota county sheriff, within 30 days of the application date, must either issue or deny a permit to carry.
- New/renewal permits are valid for five years from the date of issue.
- Emergency gun permits are valid for 30 days.
- Landlords cannot restrict the lawful possession or carry of firearms by tenants or their guests.
- Private establishments can ban the entry of any kind of firearms inside their premises. They must post a legal notice outside banning the carrying of guns on their premises. Or they must personally notify patrons that guns are not allowed within their premises.