Texas Gun Laws: What are Gun Laws in the state of Texas?
The article explains the laws in the state of Texas to regulate the sale and possession of guns and its use.
Gun permits in Texas
The state is a ‘shall issue’ state for open carrying as well as the concealed carrying of guns. A state permit is not required to purchase guns. Registration of firearms is also not required. Open carrying of guns is allowed in the state provided a permit for the same has been obtained and provided it is in a holster. A license is required for both open and concealed carrying which is an LTC – License to Carry type.
A gun permit issued in Texas is honored by 36 states in the USA. Permits are issued for residents and nonresidents of the state. The validity of the permit is for 5 years.
Carrying Guns in Texas
Guns can be carried in a vehicle. Open carry of guns is allowed subject to its being in a holster. Concealed carrying and open carrying requires a license. Guns can be carried in an open or concealed manner to all areas except the following:
- A business that makes 51% of its income from the sale of alcoholic beverages
- Where high school, collegiate or professional sporting event is taking place
- At a prison
- In a hospital or a nursing home
- In an amusement park
- At a government meeting
- In a place of worship
- In a secured area of an airport
- Any other place that has restrictions by Federal laws
Eligibility for a gun permit in Texas
The gun permit in Texas is issued for LTC – License to carry, which covers both open and concealed carry. Applicants must be 21 years of age. They must be a resident of the state for more than six months.
Other requirements include completing a gun training course, not being convicted of a felony, not a fugitive from justice, not chemically dependent, and not a delinquent.
Procedure for License to Carry
To receive a gun permit, you need to do the following:
- The applicant has to prove the resident status of having stayed at least six months by submitting identity proof or driving license copy. Nonresidents need to provide copy f their state driving license.
- Proof of completing classroom training and passing a proficiency test is required.
- The application can be submitted online or submitted at the Department of Public Safety, Austin by mail.
- Fingerprints have to be submitted through an L1 enrollment service provider.
- The fee to be paid is $40.
- Once the application is approved, a mail would be sent to notify the applicant. It usually takes around 60 days to process the application and issue a permit.
Sale of guns in Texas
Guns can be sold to those over 18 years of age. There is no background check required nor any registration. Private sales are permitted. There is no waiting period for the purchase of guns.
Carrying guns in Texas
In the state of Texas, carry of guns whether in a concealed manner or the open requires a license. A gun can be carried in a vehicle.
In Texas, one normally cannot carry a gun into a place that serves alcohol. If you are allowed to carry the gun, consumption of alcohol is not allowed.
It is not required to inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a gun. However, you must carry the license with you at all times and show it to the officer is demanded.
A ‘No weapons’ sign has the approval of the law, and no one is allowed to carry weapons in an area with such a sign.
Guns can be carried in state parks and forest areas.