Virginia Gun Law: What are Gun Laws in the State of Virginia
The Virginia Gun Law is based on a “Shall Issue” policy that allows a concealed carry permit to be issued to residents as well as nonresidents. The applicant who wants one of these permits should be at least 21 years of age, and they should have completed a course on firearms training. If the applicant is a resident of Virginia, the application will need to be filled with the circuit court of that county.
There is no given requirement that an applicant needs to be a resident of the country or state for any specific length of time. For nonresidents, the application has to be mailed to the State police. They need to send the application to the following address along with their full name, phone number, and address.
Firearms Transaction Center, Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, Department of State Police, PO Box 85141 Richmond, VA.
The total number of active concealed carry weapon permits in Virginia. Also, they also recognize the permits of other states. This is known as Virginia CCW Reciprocity. This is how reciprocity works in Virginia. Virginia honors all of the valid CCW permits from out of state. Any person that has a concealed carry permit from another state is allowed to carry a weapon in Virginia if they meet the below requirements
- They should be at least 21 years of age.
- They have to carry government-issued photo ID of any state or the US Department of Defence or US Department of State.
- The permit along with photo ID should be shown on request of the law enforcement.
- The person should have had a Virginia concealed carry permit revoked in the past.
To get a CCW permit, you would need to provide proof that you can use a handgun and are competent with one. Multiple methods can achieve this.
Method one: Complete an NRA firearms safety course.
Method two: Undergo a hunter education or hunter safety course that is approved by the department of game and fisheries in Virginia or similar organizations from other states.
Method three: Complete any firearms safety or training course that is publicly available from a firearms school, college, Law enforcement agency, Department of Justice, or a public or private institution that has certified NRA instructors.
Method Four: Complete an online training course.
Along with showing competence while using guns, there are a list of other requirements such as
- They should be at least 21 years of age
- Reside in the county that they have made the application from.
- They have not been convicted of a misdemeanor within a five year period that immediately precedes the application.
- The applicant is not addicted to or is an unlawful user or distributor of any controlled substance such as marijuana.
- The person should not be convicted of getting drunk in public or of any similar offense under any law in any state on the United States or its territories in three years immediately preceding the application. They should also not be known as a habitual drunkard.
This person should not be someone whom the court finds, by the preponderance of the evidence, based on the actions of the applicant, that the person may use the weapon unlawfully or in any way that will endanger others.
They are not someone who has been convicted of stalking or assault.