Wisconsin Gun Laws: What are Gun Laws in the state of Wisconsin?
The article explains the laws in the state of Wisconsin to regulate the sale and possession of guns and its use. The Wisconsin constitution permits people to keep arms for security, defense, hunting, and other legal purposes.
Gun permits in Wisconsin
The state is a ‘shall issue’ state for concealed carrying of guns. A state permit is not required to purchase guns. Registration of firearms is also not required. However, a permit is needed to carry the gun in a concealed manner. Open carrying of guns is allowed in the state, and no license is required for open carry.
A gun permit issued in Wisconsin is honored by 29 states in the USA. Permits are issued for residents and non-resident military personnel. The validity of the permit is for five years.
Carrying Guns in Wisconsin
Guns can be carried in a concealed manner with a permit. Open carry of guns is allowed in the state for those more than 18 years of age. It can be carried in a vehicle and all areas except the following:
- Police stations
- Schools, not allowed within 1000 ft for open carry and allowed for concealed carry with a license.
- Wisconsin Resource Centre
- Mental health facility
- Beyond the security checkpoint in an airport
- Any other place that has restrictions by Federal laws
Eligibility for a gun permit in Wisconsin
The gun permit for concealed carry issued in Wisconsin also covers knives. Applicants must be 21 years of age. When it comes to non-residents, only military personnel can be issued licenses if they are on duty in the state.
Other requirements include completing a gun training course, not having been convicted for a felony, and not being adjudged a delinquent.
Procedure for conceal carry permit in Wisconsin
To receive a gun permit, you need to do the following:
- The firearm training courses course needs to be completed and proof of training attached to the application.
- The applicant has to prove resident status by submitting identity proof or driving license copy.
- The application has to be submitted to the Department of Justice and can be done online or by mail.
- The fee to be paid is $40.
- The mailing address must be provided, and three original signatures are needed on the application form.
- The application can be submitted by mail to the Wisconsin Department of Justice. It can be submitted online at
- Once the application is approved, a mail would be sent to notify the applicant. It usually takes 21 days to process the application and issue a permit.
Sale of guns in Wisconsin
Guns can be sold to those over 18 years of age. There is no background check required nor any registration. Private sales are permitted. There is no waiting period for the purchase of guns.
Carrying guns in Wisconsin
In the state of Wisconsin, it is allowed to carry guns in the open. However, if a gun has to be carried in a concealed manner, then a permit is required. It is legal to carry a gun in a vehicle
In Wisconsin, one can carry a gun into a place that serves alcohol. However, you are NOT allowed to consume alcohol if you have a gun.
It is not required to inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a gun. However, you must carry your permit with you at all times and show it to the officer is demanded.
A ‘No weapons’ sign has the approval of the law, and no one is allowed to carry weapons in an area with such a sign.
Guns can be carried in state parks and forest areas.