Labor laws are primarily concerning the rights and responsibilities of unionized employees. These unions can negotiate for better remuneration, convenient work hours, and an increase in workplace safety. Employers are expected to follow specific rules when they deal with union members. The states are allowed to make their labor law relations, but these laws should comply with the National Labor Relations Act. These labor laws are also referred to as a set of standards for working conditions and wage laws.
The state of Connecticut has labor laws that provide greater protection to employees than some of the federal laws that already exist. These laws included pregnancy accommodation rights, a higher minimum wage and paid sick leave, but generally follows federal law concerning topics such as overtime pay, jury duty leave and military leave.
The state of Connecticut has labor laws that require employers to pay their employees when they work for more than 40 hours in a week, at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate.
Employers in Connecticut are obligated to pay their employees weekly or biweekly on regular paydays that are arranged in advance by the employer. The employers are allowed to pay their employees on the basis that is other than weekly or biweekly after they obtain a waiver from the state Department of Labor. However, paydays have to occur within eight days after the end of the pay period.
Right to work
The right to work laws claims that employees have the right to decide for themselves whether they want to join or financially support labor unions. States like Connecticut who have the right to work laws have had more business growth. There are many unions, and many worker-rights organizations don’t support the “right to work” laws. For unions, the self-interest is clear. However, people have the right to work and not be a part of any union in the state of Connecticut.
Criminal Background Checks
The state of Connecticut labor laws prohibits an employer from denying employment of a potential employee or otherwise discriminating any applicant based on a prior arrest, conviction or criminal charge, especially if the applicant's records were erased. Barring a few exceptions, an employer is also prohibited from asking potential employees from disclosing information of any arrest, criminal indictment or conviction if the file has been expunged.
In the state of Connecticut, the minimum wage is higher than the minimum wage set by federal law. Currently, the minimum wage in Connecticut is $10.10 per hour, along with a few exceptions. Connecticut is also known to establish minimum requirements for employees who are not paid strictly on an hourly basis.
Access to Personnel Files
According to the Personnel Files Act in Connecticut, employees are free to inspect their personnel files up to two times per the calendar year. The employer obligates to provide access to current employees within seven business days and to former employees within ten business days.
The wage and hour laws in Connecticut prohibits an employer from discriminating against employees by sex/gender about the amount of remuneration paid to any employee. The employer is also prohibited from retaliating against any employee who has opposed to any discriminatory compensation practices, or filed a complaint or testified or assisted in any proceeding under the law.
Whistleblower Protection Act
Under the Connecticut labor law, an employer is prohibited from retaliating or taking any adverse employment action against an employee who is reporting the employer's violation or suspected violation of the law or for cooperating in an investigation, hearing or inquiry into alleged legal violations.