Breaking and Entering Law Arkansas
Arkansas breaking and entering law forbid burglary i.e. entering into a commercial or a residential building with the intention of committing a criminal offense inside, breaking, and entering into structures such as vehicles for committing a crime, as well as trespass, which is entering into the property of another person without taking their permission.
Thus, property crimes in Arkansas include vandalism, burglary, trespassing, and arson. While all these crimes are not regarded as violent offenses, they would not have harsh penalties. Yet, they are all severe offenses, which may comprise possible prison terms and felony charges.
Home invasion burglary, for instance, in Arkansas carries extremely stiff punishments and violent and armed home invasions may be penalized by life imprisonment.
Commercial and Residential Burglary in Arkansas
According to breaking and entering laws in the state, a person is said to have committed the offense of burglary when he/she remains or enters into a commercial or residential building belonging to someone else without authority and intends to commit a criminal offense penalized by a prison term such as assault or theft while inside.
Also, a person is said to have committed the offense of burglary the moment they enter or remain inside a building nurturing a prohibited intent. The breaking and entering the law of Arkansas does not require the intruder to actually commit his/her intended crime. Thus, when a person breaks into a shop to steal some money from the store’s cash register and yet flees without actually taking the money is still considered to have committed an act of burglary. In case, a person commits some other offense such as theft while remaining inside the building, additional charges may be slapped against him/her.
Breaking or Entering in Arkansas
The state of Arkansas also forbids breaking or entering into a container or a building, which has some items of value. A person in Arkansas commits this offense with the intention of committing a theft or a felony into a:
- Vehicle, structure, or building, or
- Equipment such as a box for bus fare, vending machine, safety deposit box, cash register, safe, or vault among others; or
- Such charges may be filed against an individual who has broken into a vehicle for stealing its electronics, breaks into a building that is abandoned for stealing some copper pipes, or a parking meter for attempting to steal change.
Punishment for Breaking and Entering in Arkansas
- Aggravated residential burglary, residential burglary, and commercial burglary
It is a felony of type Class Y that can lead to life imprisonment or a prison term between 10 and 40 years. On the other hand, residential burglary is a felony of Class B and is penalized by a maximum fine of 15,000 USD and a prison term between 5 and 20 years. Commercial burglary in Arkansas is considered to be a Class C felony. It is penalized by a maximum fine of 10,000 USD and a prison term of 3 to 10 years.
- Breaking or Entering
The state laws view it as a Class D felony, which is penalized by a maximum fine of 10,000 USD and a maximum prison term of 6 months. Arkansas considers residential trespass as a Class B misdemeanor that is penalized by a maximum fine of 1,000 USD and a jail term of 90 days. Else, trespass comes under the category of a Class C misdemeanor and is penalized by a maximum fine of 500 USD and a maximum jail term of 30 days.
If you have been slapped with the charges of property crime in Arkansas, consult a good defense attorney in your area to help you in minimizing the charges or acquitting you altogether.
Search Arkansas Criminal Records with GoLookUp!