Best Criminal Records Search Tool Online!

Criminal Records Search!

Search for Criminal Records, Arrest Records and Court Documents!

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 17, 2019
Sensitive Information!
Access Arrest Records & Criminal Records. Please Check Website Terms of Use!
Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is the Law on Arson in Georgia and what are the Punishments for it?

Each and every state in the United States has its own set of laws when it comes to matters of arson. Arson is the act of willfully burning someone else’s property or any public structure. The type of property can be either personal or public. When it comes to arson laws in Georgia, it is divided into three varying degrees with an individual set of punishment for each.

Arson in the first degree in Georgia

Under the law of Georgia, arson in the first degree involves the crime of intentionally damaging, encouraging, hiring or advising someone else to damage some property by means of fire. In that case, the property must be the one where human life is present and any damage done to it might result in loss of human life. The building can also be unoccupied, according to the situation. It might also be a vacant property:

  • Which belongs to someone else
  • Where someone else has an interest in
  • Where the property is under insurance which covers any damage done by arson

It also falls under arson in the first degree if a person knowingly damages a non-residential property using fire in the presence of any other felony.

Georgia Arson Law

Punishment:

The punishment for arson in the first degree can either be a fine, imprisonment or both. The time of prison may range from one to twenty years. The amount of fine might be up to $50,000.

Arson in the second degree in Georgia

Under the law of Georgia, arson in the second degree involves the crime of knowingly using fire or some explosives to damage any non-residential property belonging to someone or property where another person has security interest without the consent of the owner. It also falls under arson in the second degree if a person knowingly damages a non-residential property using fire in the presence of any other felony. The list of non-residential properties includes:

  • Any building
  • Vehicle
  • Watercraft
  • Aircraft
  • Other non-residential structure

Punishment:

The person convicted under arson in the second degree will be punished with either a fine, imprisonment or both. The time of prison ranges from one to ten years and the fine will b of $25,000.

Arson Law

Arson in the third degree in Georgia

Under the law of Georgia, arson in the third degree involves the crime of intentionally damaging a property using fire or explosives. The law encompasses around:

  • Damage to any personal property of another person where there is a security interest of the other. The value of the property needs to be $25 or more.
  • Damage to any personal property which is insured against damage from fire without the consent of the insurer and the insured. The value of the property needs to be $25 or more.
  • Damage to any personal property with the intention of defeating or defrauding a spouse or a co-owner. The value of the property needs to $25 or more.
  • It also falls under arson in the first degree if a person knowingly damages a non-residential property using fire in the presence of any other felony.
Arson Law Georgia

It also falls under arson in the third degree if a person knowingly damages a non-residential property using fire in the presence of any other felony.

Punishment for arson in Georgia:

The person convicted under arson in the third degree will be punished by either a fine, imprisonment or both. The time of prison should not be less than one year and not more than five years. The fine should not exceed $10,000.


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 17, 2019
Sensitive Information!