What Is The Law On Murder In Nevada And What Are The Punishments For It?
Murder is the most severe criminal offense in federal law. The convicted can be punished with capital punishment or a jail term for the entire life when finding guilty of this heinous crime. The state of Nevada categorizes the crime into first-degree and second-degree murders.
First-degree murder in Nevada
When a person kills someone else by poisoning, torturing, lying in wait, or by another type of premeditated, deliberates, and willful means, it is considered as first-degree murder in Nevada.
- Try to evade being arrested or attempt of running away from legal custody
- At an activity sponsored by a school, school or while traveling on the school bus by an individual who had the intention of creating a serious threat of severe physical injury to multiple persons or death using a device, weapon, or an action, which would typically threaten many people’s lives
- During the attempted perpetration or perpetration of kidnapping, sexual assault, burglary, robbery, arson, home invasion, abusing a child sexually, abuse of a vulnerable or an older person, or molesting a kid below 14 years, or
- In the attempted perpetration or perpetration of a terrorist act
Second-degree murder in Nevada
Such murder charges make up of committing homicides unintentionally where the reckless behavior of the concerned defendant made the killing a foreseeable outcome.
A good instance of this would be playing Russian roulette. Although the defendant did not have any intention of causing injury to someone else, it is usually known to all that when a partially loaded weapon is fired at somebody; there is a big risk of killing that person.
- Some other instances of 2nd-degree murder are as follows:
- Bursting fireworks although the person was aware of the presence of an individual within a close distance and the latter gets killed because of the explosion
- When a person fires his weapon into a structure, which the accused wrongfully believes is unoccupied and the occupant gets killed
- When an individual throws an item off the roof although there are people below and the object hits and kills any one of the people on the road
Penalties for 1st-degree and 2nd-degree murders in Nevada
In the state of Nevada, first-degree murder is considered a Class A felony and is penalized by one of the following:
- A jail term between 50 years or up to an entire life without parole, or
- Death when one or multiple aggravating conditions existed while the aggravated circumstances outweighed the mitigating circumstances.
In the murder law of Nevada, a 2nd-degree murder is considered as the 2nd most severe criminal offense after 1st-degree murder. If convicted the maximum punishment can be life in prison.
First-degree murder in Nevada–aggravating circumstances
The punishment for committing a 1st-degree murder in the state of Nevada can become more severe when aggravating circumstances are present while the murder is committed. Alternatively, the penalty can be reduced in the presence of certain mitigating circumstances. Here is a list that gives instances of aggravating circumstances, which are recognized in the state of Nevada for being convicted for 1st-degree murder.
- The killing was done in exchange of something valuable or money.
- When the accused was found guilty in the past for another homicide or a felony that involved a threat or use of violence.
- The victim of the murder was below 14 years during the time of the killing.
- When the killing included mutilation or torture of the victim.
- The killing was done intending to commit, aiding, concealing, or furthering a terrorist act.
- When a person killed one or several persons randomly and without a clear purpose.