Best Criminal Records Search Tool Online!

Criminal Records Search!

Search for Criminal Records, Arrest Records and Court Documents!

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 21, 2019
Sensitive Information!
Access Arrest Records & Criminal Records. Please Check Website Terms of Use!
Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is the Law on Arson in New Mexico and What are the Punishments for It?

Arson is an act of deliberately setting fire to a building or property. When someone willfully or deliberately sets fire to a building or property to cause damage or destruction, it is known as Arson. There are various aspects related to Arson that are defined in the laws. The laws related to Arson in the state of New Mexico is explained in this article.

Arson in New Mexico

In the state of New Mexico, the New Mexico Statutes 30-17-5 and 30-17-6 deal with Arson and Aggravated Arson. In the state of New Mexico, Arson is classified as Arson and Aggravated Arson. The severity of the act would lead to a higher punishment.

Arson in the state of New Mexico is defined as when a person maliciously or willfully starting a fire or causing an explosion to damage or destroy a building, occupied structure or property of another person, a bridge, utility line, fence, a sign, any property to collect insurance.

New Mexico Arson Law

As can be seen from the law, Arson is a malicious or a willful act. It explains different types of property and also includes Arson to collect insurance.

The law also defines negligent Arson as an act of recklessly starting a fire or causing an explosion and causing death or damaging or destroying someone else’s building or occupied structure.

The law in New Mexico also defines aggravated Arson that is defined as willful or malicious damage by fire or explosion of any bridge, watercraft, vehicles, pipeline, utility line, communication line or structure, railway structure, private or public building, dwelling or other structure causing great bodily harm. So, aggravated Arson is applicable for a variety of properties and, and it is applicable if someone suffering serious bodily harm.

Arson Law

Punishment under the law

In the state of New Mexico, Arson is punished based on the impact of the felony.

When Arson causes damage of $250 or less, it is a petty misdemeanor and can lead to imprisonment for up to 30 days in jail or a fine of up to $100.

When Arson causes damage of between $250 and $500, then it is considered a misdemeanor. A conviction would lead to imprisonment of a maximum of one year in jail and a fine of up to $1000.

When the act of Arson causes damage of between $500 to $2,500, then it considered as a fourth-degree felony. A conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to eighteen years and a fine of up to $5000.

Arson Law New Mexico

When Arson causes damage of between $2,500 to $20,000, then it is considered as a third-degree felony. A conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $5000.

When Arson leads to damage of more than $20,000, it is considered a second-degree felony and this lead to imprisonment for up to nine years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Negligent Arson in New Mexico is considered a fourth-degree felony. A conviction would lead to imprisonment for up to eighteen years and a fine of up to $5000.

Aggravated Arson is a serious act under the law in New Mexico and is considered a second-degree felony. A conviction can lead to nine years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. However, if this act causes the death of someone, then imprisonment would be for up to 15 years and a fine of up to $12,500.


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 21, 2019
Sensitive Information!