What are the Wyoming Negligence Laws?
You are at a friend’s home for dinner, having a good time. You have had some drinks, but you are still able to think clearly. You excuse yourself to use the restroom and you are directed towards one. While turning on the lights, you feel intense pain shooting all over your body; you are unable to move. The electric shock leaves you paralyzed on your right. Will you succeed in claiming compensation under negligence law Wyoming?
Negligence Law Definition
The negligence law definition holds the same meaning to all the states through negligence laws by state differ from one state to another. Negligence is defined as failing to do what a reasonable person would do, or doing what a reasonable person would not do. It is a failure to act that causes injury or damage to another person.
It is important to understand the negligence law definition to determine whether you can claim compensation for injury caused by negligence. As a plaintiff, you must prove the four elements of negligence to be able to claim compensation. These elements include
- Duty of care: the defendant owed a duty of care to you, the plaintiff
- Breach of duty: It happens when the defendant fails to fulfill the duty of care
- Proximate cause: the defendant’s breach of duty is the cause for your damage or injury
- Damage: the genuine injury caused to you by the defendant’s negligence
Though the negligence laws by state differ from one another, all states in the U.S. require you, the plaintiff to prove the elements of the negligence laws to be able to claim compensation.
Negligence Law Wyoming
The state of Wyoming follows the comparative negligence doctrine like most states in the U.S. As per Wyoming negligence law if you are the plaintiff and you are at fault, your compensation is based on the percentage of your fault. For example, as per comparative negligence law Wyoming, if you are 25% at fault for the accident that caused you injuries, your compensation is reduced by 25%. If the fine is $2000, you will get 75% of the claim. $1,500.
As per the Wyoming negligence law, the contributory fault shall not bar recovery if fault is not more than 50% of the total fault of parties involved. It only means that according to the Wyoming negligence law, if the plaintiff’s fault is more than the defendant’s fault, then the plaintiff cannot claim compensation for injuries suffered.
The negligence laws by state in all states of the U.S. have one thing in common, the judge and the jury determines the percentage of fault of each party. But the punishment for negligence in Wyoming is determined by the Wyoming negligence law.
What is the Punishment for Negligence in Wyoming?
The punishment for negligence in Wyoming depends on the negligence law Wyoming and the severity of the offense that is in question. The negligence laws by state consider death caused by negligence as a criminal offense. The punishment for negligence in Wyoming is as under.
- Homicide by vehicle: If a person is found driving a vehicle in a criminally negligent manner and his conduct is the proximate cause of the death of another person, it is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for up to a year, a maximum fine of $2,000, or both.
- Criminally negligent homicide: If a person causes the death of another person by conduct amounting to criminal negligence it is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in jail for up to a year, a maximum fine of $2,000, or both.
- Reckless abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in jail for up to a year, a maximum fine of $1,000, or both.