How to Get an Arkansas Gun License
If you are a resident of Arkansas, and you are worried about the safety about yourself and your family, you can seek a firearm license. In Arkansas, it is legal to carry a concealed handgun for self-defense, but there is a procedure for obtaining it. This article will enlighten you about everything you need to know about a firearm license.
Permit information that is worth knowing
The concealed carry permit is issued by the Department of Public Safety and is valid for five years only. If you wish to apply for a firearm license, you have to apply to the Arkansas State Police and undergo through stringent state and federal background checks.
Also, declaration of your allegiance to the United States and Arkansas constitutions is necessary. Also, it is a must that you complete the firearms safety training to obtain an Arkansas conceal carry permit. You do not require a permit when you are on a journey, and you are traveling beyond your county of residence.
Thirty-seven states in the U.S.A. honors an Arkansas permit, and they are-
Residents of Wyoming, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Vermont, Utah, Texas, Arizona, Oklahoma, Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, New Mexico, South Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee,
Also, the state of Arkansas honors permits from 52 states of all the above-mentioned states and California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Minnesota, Vermont, Washington and district territories of New York City, Columbia, City, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Eligibility criteria that you need to fulfill
You are eligible for obtaining an Arkansas firearm license if you fulfill the following conditions:
- You should be 21 years of age or older or
- If you are aged18 years, you should be a member of the US Armed Forces or National Guard.
- You should have been, for the last 20 years, a resident of Arkansas
- You should have thoroughly gone through Arkansas concealed carry law.
- You should be a US citizen or legal resident.
- You should have successfully completed an approved firearms training session.
- You should not have been convicted within the last five years of the offense of carrying a weapon.
How to apply for an Arkansas Gun License
It is quite simple to apply for the firearm license.
- First, you have to go through the CHCL firearms safety class.
- Within six months of successfully completing the course, just visit the Arkansas State Police website at http://www.asp.state.ar.us and apply online.
- On your training certificate, you have to write your confirmation number (order ID).
- Just pay a visit to your local law enforcement agency for your fingerprints to be taken.
- Just after your online application, submit a full set of fingerprints and a certificate of training. You should include a check or money order, as per your choice, for the fee to “Arkansas State Police.”
- After this, you have to mail your fingerprint cards and training page to Arkansas State Police. This is the address- Arkansas State Police, CHCL Section, 1 State Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.
- If your application has been approved, you will be notified by mail.
Places get a gun permit
You can carry your firearms to state parks, state and national forests, your privately owned vehicle and roadside rest areas.
Arkansas gun license renewal
You can renew your license online. If your license has expired for more than six months, a new application will be required. If your license has expired, you would require to pay a late fee of $15.