How to Obtain a Firearm License in the State of Mississippi
Anyone looking to purchase a gun in Mississippi will be delighted to know that the gun laws in the states are very lax. It is a constitutional carry state, so there is no requirement of a permit or license to purchase a firearm. To honor reciprocity, there are two types of grants available at the state level, and the conventional firearms permit. However, there are no background checks required for a private firearm registration or purchase. Any resident of Mississippi can purchase a firearm. So long as they fit the federal law requirements,
- The resident needs to be 21 years old or older to purchase a firearm.
- The resident requires to provide a government-issued identification such as their driver’s license
- A background check is mandatory.
How to apply for a concealed handgun license in Mississippi
The state of Mississippi issues concealed license only to residents, and the state does not have non-resident permits. The gun laws in Mississippi require a federal background check. The license is valid for five years from the day you receive your license.
You can pick up an application from the Department of Public Safety or even at your nearest highway patrol substation. Be sure to check "Firearm Permit Locations" for date & time of processing. While submitting your application, be sure to carry your fingerprint cars, a full-face photograph of you.
What is the cost of a concealed handgun license in Mississippi?
The cost of a first time Individual Firearm Permit is $132, and a renewal fee is $82. There is a $15 late fee for permits that have expired. The cost for a Security Guard Permit is $132. Be sure to make the payment through cash or check.
What are the requirements to apply for a concealed handgun license
- The applicant must be Twenty-one years old at least or older.
- The applicant must be a resident of the state for at least over 12 months
- If the applicant is on active military duty
- An applicant who is a retired law enforcement officer seeking residency
- The resident must not be suffering from any physical infirmity that prevents the applicant from safely handling a handgun
- The applicant must not be an addict or a drug or alcohol abuser.
- The resident must not be a convicted felon or fugitive hiding from justice
- The applicant must not have a past of violent misdemeanor convictions within the last three years before applying.
- The applicant must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal law.
How does reciprocity work in the state of Mississippi
All valid out-of-state firearm permits are recognized by the state of Mississippi. It includes licenses for revolvers and concealed pistols. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety can enter into reciprocity agreements with other states if the other state requires a written contract. Currently Mississippi has signed written agreements with states like Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Areas that are off-limits to carry your firearm in Mississippi
- Any courthouse
- Police, sheriff or highway patrol station
- Any detention facility, prison or jail
- Polling place
- Meeting of a government or legislative body
- Any educational institution, elementary or secondary school facility
- Church or places of worship
- Premises that have posted that carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited
- Establishments and places that sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
- Any airport passenger terminal, except if the firearm is packed for shipment