How to Get a Missouri Firearm LicenseMissouri is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States. With a little over 6 million residents, Missouri is the 18th most populated state in the U.S. The largest urban areas are Kansas City, Columbia, St. Louis, and Springfield. The capital city of Missouri is Jefferson City, located near the center of the state on the Missouri River. Missouri is the 21st most extensive state regarding the area.
Introduction to Missouri Gun Laws
Missouri became a constitutional state to carry firearms in January 2017. There is no permit required to carry a firearm whether openly or concealed. However, the state will still issue a permit on a "Shall Issue" basis to maintain reciprocity with other U.S. states. There is no specific requirement to have your firearms registered or get a purchase permit for the same.
Some school employees who have undergone special training are allowed to carry firearms on the school grounds to maintain safety. Gun permits are issued by county sheriffs at the local level to Missouri residents only, and they must be at least 19 years of age.
Points to note –
In Missouri, you can carry a weapon without a permit anywhere inside a vehicle, even it is concealed on the person. So a person can carry a gun openly or conceal even without a permit. There is nothing stated anywhere in the Missouri gun laws that state that you must inform a law enforcement officer if you are carrying a firearm if you are approached on official business.
You are by law at all times required to carry a gun permit, along with a photo ID, during which the person has a concealed handgun in his actual possession. You can carry a firearm into a restaurant, but you cannot carry one if you are intoxicated.
It is legal to carry a firearm in the following areas – State Parks, State/National Forests, State Wildlife Management Areas and Road Site Rest Areas. As per the Constitution, a person does not require a permit to carry a firearm if he meets all the requirements to carry/possess a firearm.
How to Obtain a Firearm Permit in Missouri?
Application procedure for obtaining a concealed carry permit –
All applicants will be required to:
o Appear in person at the location specified to submit the endorsement application.
o Provide a valid military ID, Missouri Driver’s License, or a Non-Driver’s license and orders.
o Complete the application stating that all the qualifications have been properly met.
o Submit a photocopy of the certification carrying the firearms qualification.
o Pay a 90-dollar fee by cash/credit card/check or money order that should be made payable to ‘The Treasurer - St. Louis County.’
You can obtain forms in person, or you can download them from the website link.
Requirements for Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit in the State of Missouri
o The applicant must be at least 19 years of age.
o The applicant must be a citizen of The United States of America.
o The applicant should have taken residency in the state of Missouri, or he should be a member of the armed forces of Missouri, or a spouse of such member of the armed forces.
o The applicant should not have been convicted of or have pled guilty to or have entered into a plea of ‘nolo contendere’ to a felony crime.
o The applicant should not be mentally incompetent or should not have been or be committed to a mental hospital.