Knowledge — 2 months ago

A Guide for Getting a Firearm License in Montana

by Garry S.

Firearm License Montana State, Montana State Firearms License

How to Get a Firearm License in Montana

There are some different gun laws at the state and federal levels. So, it can be a bit baffling at times to know the laws that have an impact on your firearm rights. If you are a resident of the state of Montana, you need only to follow a few laws while procuring a firearm. The law of the state permits it, people, to possess concealed weapons when they have a valid out-of-state or Montana permit for doing so.

However, no firearms are permitted inside places like school buildings in the state. Plus, there may be local regulations on where one can carry a weapon. There are no prohibitions in the state against being with a weapon while riding a motor vehicle. Montana is a gun-friendly state and as such does not have too many rules for getting a handgun. A permit is not required to buy a handgun.

Requirements for purchasing a handgun in Montana

To purchase a firearm, a person has to do the following:

  • Show his/her state ID
  • be a minimum of 21-year-old
  • A background check should have been conducted by a licensed dealer of firearms
Firearm License Montana State

In case, the third requirement appears to be a hassle for you, the requirement for a background check can be avoided altogether by buying a firearm via a private sale. However, you need to opt for a used firearm instead of a new one. The permit once obtained is valid for four years from the date of issuance.

On the other hand, there could be scenarios when a person can be restrained from possessing a firearm even though they meet all the other criteria above.

A person is prohibited from owning a gun or a firearm if they:

  • A runaway from justice
  • Has been adjudged as a criminal with a sentence of imprisonment for more than a year
  • Abuses controlled substances illegally
  • Is an illegal alien
  • Has been declared as a person with a mental defect or is sent to any mental institution
  • Was an American citizen previously but given up his/her citizenship
  • Was convicted of a crime related to some kind of domestic violence
  • Subject to any kind of restraining order
Montana State Firearms License

Rules for antique collectors in Montana

Contrary to some other American states, the state treats antique firearms in a similar manner to standard firearms. It signifies that even when a person is purchasing an old pistol from the early 19th century, they have to abide by the same set of procedures that are applicable while purchasing a new one.

An application can be procured from the office of the county sheriff in the locality.  Online resources with dummy forms are available so that interested people can check out the requirements and collect the essential documentation before going to the office of their sheriff.

If residents in Montana are interested to know about the status of their permit’s validity in some other state, they should check it with the state in question, i.e., where they wish to carry their weapon/.

Requirements for non-Residents

The state of Montana gives recognition to permits for concealed weapons from other American states. It is compulsory for a non-resident to fulfill the criteria mentioned below for carrying any kind of concealed weapon in the state:

  • There should be proper photo identification for the permit holder
  • The holder should possess the permit
  • The permit-issuing state should have conducted a proper background check of criminal records of the person before issuing it

InfoHub by GoLookUp covers the latest and most comprehensive latest updates, news and information from around the web. InfoHub writers explore the internet and collect, analyze and deliver valuable information for our readers.

Golookup © 2015 - 2019 · All Rights Reserved