How to Get a Firearm License in Nebraska
People of Nebraska like any citizen in the United States are allowed to keep firearms as acknowledged by the second amendment to the US Constitution. However, the state of Nebraska has specific policies regarding buying, selling, and carrying handguns, including issuing permits to buy handguns and permits to carry concealed handguns. There are certain requirements that need to be fulfilled.
Eligibility for a Nebraska Gun License
A person has to be 18 years of age to purchase a firearm like long guns in the state of Nebraska. Minimum age of 21 years is required for handguns and ammunition.
Disqualification for a Nebraska Gun License
Under certain circumstance, people above the age of 18 or 21 years are prohibited from owning a firearm. Such conditions are the following -
- Convicted people punished by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, or less
- Controlled substances abusers or addict
- Mentally defective or involuntarily committed to a mental institution
- Illegal immigrants
- Someone who has been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces
- persons who have renounced their U.S. citizenship
To buy a gun, a permit is required. On payment of a five dollar application fee, the local law enforcement runs a background check. Within three days, a permit is given upon a successful background check.
The application process for a Nebraska Gun License
- Applications are made to the State Patrol
- a $100 fee is to be paid
- Fingerprinting is done
- The valid state identification card is required to be shown
- The thorough background check is done via the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the Nebraska sex offender registry, and mental health records maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services
An applicant to get the permit to need to fulfill the following requirements
- Applicants should be 21 years of age
- Permitted by the clauses for purchasing or possessing a handgun by 18 U.S.C. 922, as that section existed on January 1, 2005
- Eyesight good enough to hold a Class O operator’s license
- Not a convicted felony as considered under Nebraska or any other jurisdiction
- No record of being a convicted misdemeanor related crime of violence in the past ten years
- The applicant must be a Nebraska resident for at least 180 days, a member of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed at a military base in the state pursuant to permanent duty station orders or a spouse of such military member, or a new Nebraska resident with a concealed carry permit issued from the applicant’s former state of residence if that state’s standards for a concealed carry permit are the same or more stringent than Nebraska’s
- The applicant can not be a convict of any law of Nebraska or other jurisdiction which relates to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances within ten years preceding the date of application
- The applicant also cannot be on parole, probation, or work release
- Must provide proof of training by a certified instructor
The proof of training must have the applicants name, the instructor’s name and the credential of the instructor must be mentioned. It must also carry identification number for the applicant like social security number.
A permit is issued to eligible candidates meeting the requirement within a stipulated time of 45 days. In case it is denied, applicants are allowed to appeal against it. Each permit will be valid for a tenure of 5 years. It can be renewed after another thorough background check and payment of renewal fee of dollar 50.