How to Get a Firearm License in New York
New York state law does not require a license to own or possess long guns; a permit is required to possess or own a pistol legally. They have its own set of laws to require permits for long guns and pistols. However, all firearms need to follow the regulations as stated in the NY SAFE Act, which prohibits assault weapons to be owned by citizens.
New York city issues license for handguns and permits for rifles and shotguns to individuals who are citizen and residents of the area and are above 21 years of age. The license is issued from the NYPD License Division situated at One Police Plaza. Since January 1, 2018, the application process needs to be done through "NYPD Permitting & Licensing" public portal. Paper applications are no longer accepted. Any handgun purchaser needs to get a license to possess or carry a handgun. The process generally takes about four months. Handguns that are listed on the license can be used, and all firearms must be registered with the State Police. There are three main types of firearm licenses which are the following
- Carry concealed
- Possess on Premises
- Possess/Carry During Employment
Eligibility for a New York Firearms License
You must meet the following requirements to get a license for firearms:
- Must be a New York State resident
- Must be 21 years old
- Have no prior felony or serious offense convictions (convicted felons can not possess handguns)
- Be of good moral character
- Must have a reason for wanting to possess or carry a firearm, it needs to be legally endorsed.
- Have a business that might require such license
The application process for a New York Firearms License
You can only apply to the county where you stay or where you are employed.
- For Upstate New York, the applicant must apply to the County Court
- For New York City, Nassau County and most of Suffolk County applicant needs to apply to the police commissioner.
- Eastern towns of Suffolk County needs the applicant to apply to the Sheriff.
- To finish the process the State of New York Pistol/Revolver License Application (PPB3), must be provided with - Personal information such as your -Full Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Address, Physical Description, Criminal record if any, Mental Health record, Character References. Identity proof is also required.
- If you want an exemption from the public record for your firearm license, then you must complete the necessary paperwork. Once you get a license, it stays valid till a judge revokes the right it can be done if requested by concerned citizens or if a judge deems it necessary. Each additional handgun requires an amendment to their license. The SAFE act makes it necessary to renew your permit for the pistol every five years.
Possession without license
If you are caught possessing a firearm in New York, then you will be required to pay fines and may face possible jail time. A person can also be imprisoned for up to two years for violation. A fine up to $500, or both. Subsequent offense: up to two years imprisonment, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Gun Laws of New York regulate possession of firearms and consequent licensing process.
New York is one of the first Us states to enforce stricter rules and regulations for the firearm. NY SAFE Act which came into being on 15th January 2013 upholds all the principles to make firearms safety for the people of New York. Pre-emptive seizure of a firearm is permissible by this act if a law enforcement personnel feel such a need.