How to Delete a Spotify Account
As of May 2018, Spotify was still the leader in the music streaming space, with over 159 million free users and more than 71 million paid subscribers. With other big players in music streaming services biting off chunks of the market share, you might have decided to change sides and try out something new like Amazon Music Unlimited, Tidal or Apple Music. Here is a simple step-by-step guide on how to delete your Spotify account. It will take you under two minutes.
Premium and Free Customers
First, make sure you cancel your subscription on Spotify. Do this before you delete your account. When you unsubscribe to Spotify, you will still have access to Spotify Free. So you will be able to access playlists online and offline. However, by deleting your account all playlists and saved music in “Your Library” will be lost. Your followers cannot be recovered as well. Also, you will also not be allowed to use the same username in future if you decide to rejoin. For those on a student discount, deleting Spotify will also delete your discount privileges. If you do decide to rejoin Spotify, you can use your student discount on a fresh account but only if a period of 12 months has passed since you first signed up for it.
Go to Spotify Homepage
On your browser, go to the Spotify homepage. Sign in using your Spotify username and password. A page opens with the question – “Hello How can we help you?” Below this question is a list of categories – “Subscription,” “Account,” “Logging In,” “Technical Issues,” “Ideas/ Feedback” and “I want to report a broken song or wrong song information.” Click on “Account.”
Go to Account Menu
At the top of the “Account” page, you will see the question “Can you tell us a little more?” Below this question is a list of options, starting with – “Account details, country or payment method.” Click on the third option “I want to close my Spotify account permanently.”
Permanently Close Account
By choosing to permanently close your account, you will be taken to the “Permanently Close Account” page. There are two options you can choose from. The right option is to “Cancel Subscription.” At the bottom of the left option, you will see “Close Account.” Above “Close account” you will notice reasons to entice you to continue using Spotify. If you still decide to delete the account, click on “Close Account.”
More Information About Spotify
The next page you will see has the question – “Can we get some more info?” Below are the words “Anything you can provide will help us greatly.” By clicking in the box just under the words “Tell us more,” you can type in the reason for deleting your Spotify account. Spotify collates information entered here to analyze and better understand why they are losing customers.
Click "Send question"
Once you have provided your feedback click on the blue tab “Send Question.” You will be taken to the last page where you will see the words “Thank you!” Your account has now been permanently deleted.
An alternative way to delete Spotify account
On the Home page, you can just click “Help.” Then type in “delete account.” From the drop-down menu that appears, click on ‘Close account”. Now, choose “If you’d still like to go ahead, you can close your account here.” Click on the link. A contact page appears. Click on the Account menu and choose the option “I want to close my Spotify account permanently.” Next, click on “Close Account” and you’re done.
By deleting your Spotify account, all your music, activity, history and personal information will be erased.