Nebraska Driver Training: Behind the Wheel Training and Permit Training
A person residing in Nebraska must have a valid driving license to drive in Nebraska legally. To drive a car, truck or any vehicle, driving license is issued by the state only to those who can exhibit their ability to drive while their evaluation of driving tests. Every state has restricted rules and regulations while providing a driving license either to an individual or commercial license. If you are new to Nebraska and hold a prior license, you have 30 consecutive days to apply for a valid Nebraska driving license.
Nebraska issue the following types of licenses based on age and skill –1. School Learner Permit (type LPE or LPD) -The applicant must be at least 14 years and has completed the Nebraska Driver Safety course. Learner license can be applied once you have attained the age along with required identification documents, licensing fee and appear for the test at the licensing authority division. The license is valid for three months from the date of issuance.
2. School Permit (type SCP)- Such applicants of at least 14 years and two months in age, must operate a motor vehicle under the direct supervision of his driver education instructor, seating beside the applicant on the front seat. Your SCP will only be valid when you have completed the driver safety course. SCP allows you to drive to your school and back unsupervised. For SCP applicants, it is mandatory that they have given course certification for at least 50 hours of driving including 10 hours of motor vehicle operation between sunrise and sunset.
3. Learner permit -It allows you to practice driving for operator or motorcycle license if you have attained 15 years of age. A learner permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance. You must be accompanied by a legitimate license holder above 21 years in age sitting beside the driver seat.
Operator license -Individuals who have helped a POP for at least 12 months and are below 17 can apply for an operator permit. Those who are above 18 and do not have POP will have to undergo all the tests conducted by driving license authority.
The driving tests you may have to pass for obtaining a license are –
- Vision screening -The applicant may be asked to wear glasses or lenses to drive safely if required.
- Written tests– These may include questions regarding traffic laws, safe driving practices and drug and alcohol laws and effects.
- Driving test -The applicant will have to show his driving skills and ability to the examiner, who will be sitting beside you in the car.
Graduated Driving License (GDL) which is applicable for all new drivers under 18 years of age, regulates the number of increasing accident cases among teens. Under GDL, all new driver license applicants will have to pass the driving exam conducted by the licensing authority and have to drive under certain restriction until they attain the age of 21.