Vermont Drivers Training: Behind the Wheel and Permit Training
The State of Vermont boasts of beautiful landscapes and scenic drives. To enjoy the privilege of driving on Vermont roads, it is necessary to obtain a driver license. The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is committed to promoting safe and responsible driving and issues licenses to proficient and rule-abiding drivers.
Application and Document Verification
A driver license is issued to eligible individuals who are 18 years of age or older, who pass the necessary examinations and submit proof of residency in Vermont. The applicant must submit a duly filled application form, together with the following supporting documents (originals or certified copies):
- Proof of identity and legal status – submit documents such as a valid passport or birth certificate;
- Social security verification – present social security card or recognized alternative reports; and
- Proof of residency – provide two documents evidencing applicant’s name and current Vermont residential address, such as a utility bill or property tax bill.
Once the application and above documents are submitted together with the requisite fees, the applicant will be subject to various tests.
Driver testing in Vermont
The Vermont DMV conducts the following tests before issuing a driver license:
- Vision Test: The examiner checks for the required 20/40 vision using a screening device. If the applicant is found to have any defects in sight that may impair his ability to drive, he will be referred to a licensed ophthalmologist for further testing and correction.
- Knowledge Test: The test comprises 20 multiple choice questions covering road sign identification, motor vehicle laws in Vermont and good driving practices. The Driver’s License Manual, published by the DMV, contains study information for the test. If the applicant fails the test, it can be retaken after waiting for at least one day.
- Road Test: The Road Test is conducted only if the applicant has (a) passed the Vision and Knowledge Tests; and (b) completed 40 hours of driving through a driver education program. The applicant is required to furnish a registered, inspected, well maintained and safely functioning vehicle for use during the test. The test involves operating the car as per the instructions of the examiner. The applicant's behavior, ability to handle the vehicle, maintain the necessary speed and obey traffic rules and signs are tested. The test can be re-taken after a gap of 1 week, but if the applicant fails three times, then he must wait for at least a month before attempting it again.
Driver training programs are administered by private schools regulated by the Vermont DMV. The course is a combination of at least 30 hours of classroom training, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training and 6 hours of observation. On successful completion of the course, the driver has issued a ‘Driver Education Certificate.'
A learner’s permit is granted to a person who is at least 15 years of age and who is desirous of driving in Vermont but does not have a license. To obtain this permit, one must complete the application process stipulated above and pass the Vision and Knowledge Tests. The holder of a valid learner's permit can get a driver license after passing the Road Test or if under 18 years of age, a junior driver’s license.
Junior Driver’s License
Individuals who are 16 or 17 years old, with a clean driving record in the past six months and who hold a learner's permit for at least one year, are eligible to obtain a provisional Junior Driver’s License, with permission from a parent or legal guardian. The junior driver can only drive alone or with a licensed parent/guardian/instructor in the first three months of obtaining the license. After that, he may transport family members and other passengers.