Knowledge — 9 months ago

How to use Incognito Mode in Your Browser?

by Garry S.

Private Browser, Incognito, How to Use Incognito Mode

How to use Incognito Mode in Your Browser?

Private browsing or Incognito mode encompasses an array of precautions that web surfers can take to ensure that their activity on the internet cannot be traced. The motive behind the use of incognito mode on your browser is typically for both privacy and safety. When you browse online, any website, text, pictures, and cookies that the site requires is stored on your computer. Incognito browsing is a setting on your web browser that does not store your browsing history.  Private/incognito browsing does not mean you are completely anonymous on the internet. It is just a quick and easy way to avoid leaving behind tracks.

Using the incognito mode on your browser is simple.

You can enter the incognito mode on your browser by following the steps below.

1. First, select the main menu button on chrome. It is a vertically aligned three dots, located on the upper right-hand corner of the page.

2. Click on the New Incognito Window that is available in the drop-down menu that will appear. Check for the incognito icon that can be recognized as a black hat and glasses. You can also use the keyboard shortcut- CTRL+SHift+N or Command+Shift+N on a Mac.

3. You can switch between Incognito window and regular chrome window. To exit from the Incognito mode, just close the browser window or tabs.

Private Browser

Advantage or benefits of using the incognito mode on your web browser:

1. Privacy

You can help protect your privacy when you use the incognito mode on your web browser. Especially when you use a shared computer, being on a browser with the incognito mode can protect your privacy. Even if you use a search engine or type the URL directly in the address bar, the websites are not saved in the browser. The websites you frequently visit while you use the incognito mode will never appear automatically when you begin typing it on the address bar. It erases your browsing history and puts any tracking cookies into the trash.

 2. Security

If you use a shared computer or public computer, incognito mode is ideal to protect your personal or business accounts. When you close the incognito window or tab you automatically delete any cookies created during the session. Even if you forget to sign out of a site, the sign-in cookie will be erased and it protects you from anyone who could access your account.

3. Multiple Sessions

You can use incognito mode to log in to two or more accounts at the same time, as the browsing mode cookies are not shared. For example, you can log in to your work Gmail account as well as your personal account at the same time.

4. Considerations

If you want to keep your search history and internet activity completely private, consider pausing your Google Web history tracking.

 Incognito

Incognito mode will not save your browsing history, cookies and site data, or information entered in forms. The files you download and bookmarks you create will be saved. When you are browsing the internet in incognito mode, it does increase your privacy and security but it doesn’t completely prevent you from getting tracked.

Your internet service provider tracks the pages that you visit when you are in the Incognito browsing mode. In any case, the Incognito mode on your web browser is useful in many areas as long as you keep in mind that you can be tracked unless you have set up a VPN. You can use the Incognito window in certain situations and it works to your advantage in that aspect.

 


InfoHub by GoLookUp covers the latest and most comprehensive latest updates, news and information from around the web. InfoHub writers explore the internet and collect, analyze and deliver valuable information for our readers.

Golookup © 2015 - 2019 · All Rights Reserved