Both federal and state employment laws protect an employee in Nevada as they defend their workplace rights. The rules prohibit discrimination, payment of overtime is mandatory, they govern an employees right to take time off work, and authorize a safe work environment, among other things. And these laws and rules apply to every part of the employment relationship. Nevada has employment laws that provide significantly better protection to employees than the federal law, including rights like pregnancy accommodation rights, a higher minimum wage, and school activities leave.
Laws against Harassment and Discrimination
It is mandatory for employers in Nevada to conform to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. The act states that employers are not allowed to make decisions by an employee’s color, race, gender, religion, or national origin. Age-based discrimination takes effect for those who are at least 40 years of age. Discrimination that is based on disability or genetic information is also prohibited. Harassment is not permitted in the workplace. If the employee has to endure any harassment to keep or get a job, it's a violation of that employee's rights.
Minimum Wage in Nevada
The state of Nevada has employment laws that have a current minimum wage of $7.25. The minimum wage rate is $8.25 for employers who do not provide a qualifying health benefit.
Equal Pay in Nevada
The Nevada employment law prohibits the discrimination of wages by gender for equal work on jobs that require an equal amount of skill, effort, and responsibility, while they are performed under similar working conditions. An employer is free to pay different wages if the wage variation is based upon a seniority system, a merit system, or a compensation system under which payments are driven by the quality or quantity or factors other than gender.
Meals and Breaks in Nevada
Employers in Nevada are required to provide their employees with a meal time of 30 minutes when the employee works continuously for 8 hours. Employers are also expected to provide employees with a 10-minute break every four-hour time period worked. Employees who work for three and a half hours or less are not eligible to receive a break period.
According to the Nevada Pregnant Workers' Fairness Act, it is mandatory for an employer who has 15 or more employees to provide acceptable accommodation to employees who are pregnant or employees have become new parents.
Overtime pay in Nevada
The labor laws in Nevada require the employers to remunerate their employees for overtime work at the rate of 1½ times the regular rate for all hours worked for more than 40 hours in a week to all their employees, unless otherwise exempt.
Access to personnel files in Nevada
In Nevada, employees who have been employed for at least 60 days in a company or business have the right to examine and copy their personnel records that are used as a basis for any disciplinary action that is taken against the employee, including termination. An employer is free to charge the employee only for the actual cost associated with copying the documents.
Criminal background checks in Nevada
In Nevada, the employer is free to consider a job applicant's criminal history as part of the pre-employment screening process. The employer can inquire or acquire records about a prospective employee's convictions and incidents for which he/she is currently within the criminal justice system, including parole or probation.
Severance pay or last pay in Nevada
Employers in Nevada are not obligated to provide employees with severance pay according to the laws in place. However, an employer can follow the company's guidelines about severance pay if an employer has an internal policy for the latter.