Employment Laws: What are Employment Laws in Oregon?
If you are working in the state of Oregon, it is essential for you to know the federal as well as the state laws that govern your working principles. In Oregon, as an employee, you are protected throughout your employment process under both federal and state law. However, state laws provide greater protection to working employees than federal law does in Oregon regarding health care coverage.
An employer in Oregon, in addition to following federal and state law, has to follow municipal laws concerning the employer-employee relationship. This article is going to provide you with all the necessary information you would require to know regarding employment laws in Oregon.
Discrimination and harassment laws in Oregon
Under federal law, employers are forbidden from discriminating on the grounds of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin, and genetic information. Employers in Oregon who have at least 15 employees are subject to these laws, and for the law prohibiting age discrimination, employers with at least 20 employees must adhere to the code.
In addition to the above laws, laws in Oregon also prohibit discrimination regarding job listings, hiring decision, interviews, layoffs, promotion, compensation, and termination. Also, in addition to the above prohibitions, employees in Oregon are protected from discrimination on grounds such as sexual orientation, marital status, or being a victim of domestic violence.
Equal pay in Oregon
In jobs of comparable work, Oregon laws prevent employers from paying females lesser than males relating to skill and responsibility with an exception only based on the merit system and seniority system. Also, discrimination must not be based on race, color, religion, sexual orientation and national origin.
Wage and labor in Oregon
Regarding minimum wage, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the minimum wage and working hours that employers must follow. Employers are guided by law to pay the highest minimum wage to employees which is $10.75 an hour in Oregon (this wage is a revised wage from 1 July 2018). Oregon's minimum wage rate varies according to the location of the employer.
Child labor in Oregon
In Oregon, minors aged under 18 are prohibited from working in hazardous jobs like working in underground mines or places that sell liquor.
Leave laws in Oregon
In Oregon, benefits such as paid leave, sick leave, holidays and paid time off (PTO) are discretionary. However, paid sick leave is the right of every employee in Oregon. Employers must offer unpaid leave under the following conditions:
- Military leave- under the federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and Oregon military leave law, employers must allow their employees to take a vacation from work in case of federal or state military duty.
- Military family leaves- Also, under FMLA, eligible employees can get up to 26 weeks off in case of a serious injury of a family member who was on duty.
- Domestic violence leaves- For employers who have more than six employees, leave must be given to employees who are victims of domestic and sexual violence for counseling, medical treatment or legal help.
- Jury duty- employees in Oregon are guided by law to take leave for jury duty.
Compensation and safety laws
In the case of on-the-job injury, an employee in Oregon is eligible for worker's compensation.
The Occupational Safety and Health Act, which is a federal law, require employers in Oregon to provide a safe workplace and a non-hazardous working environment.
If employees feel that their employees have committed safety violations, then they have the right to appeal for an Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) inspection.
Leaving a job in Oregon
Employees in Oregon can move their position at their own will. However, employees cannot be given the pink slip for discriminatory reasons.