Drunk Driving Laws LouisianaDriving is something that requires a lot of patience, skill, and temperament. Even though everyday drivers do not think of it as much and classify driving as something that is routine, the very fact that if you do not drive correctly someone's life may be at risk is always at the back of their minds. If you happen to mix alcohol and driving then it is a whole different cocktail and can prove to be seriously dangerous.
Drunk Driving or driving under the influence (DUI) is taken to be very seriously by society as well as the law. Drunk driving laws or DUI laws aim to curb this dangerous practice that sadly seems to be on the rise in recent years. When a person is drunk driving it not only puts the lives of the passengers at risk but also pedestrians and other cars at risk too. It has the potential of injuring someone through no fault of his own or in worse case situations it might even lead to their death.
Drunk driving law in most jurisdictions states that the driver should not be above a certain specified limit that would render him unable to drive. This limit is measured by the Blood Alcohol Content Level or abbreviated as BAC. If the driver is found to be above the specified limit then he is taken to book and faced with serious consequences. In some cases, law enforcement officials consider themselves lucky when they apprehend someone before he crashes his vehicle and injures himself or someone else.
Louisiana Drunk Driving Law and its Punishments
In the state of Louisiana, as with most other state jurisdictions, the offenses relating to drunk driving have been classified based on the number of times the person has been convicted for drunk driving, in which case the penalties and the fines go up. If you're a first time offender, then you would attract a jail time of not less than 10 days and not more than 6 months, with a minimum fine of $300 to a maximum of $1000. It should be noted here that the fines may extend to $750 to $1000 if the BAC of the driver is found to be 0.20% or more. For a first time offense your license may be suspended for 12 months (2 years if BAC is 0.20% or more). The court may also impose some community service and a substance abuse program.
If you're a second-time offender then you may get a jail term of 30 days to a maximum of 6 months in jail and a fine of $750 to a maximum of $1,000. Your license may get suspended for 24 months or 2 years and could be extended to 4 years if it is found that the BAC level was 0.20% or more. Similarly, the court may impose higher community service and a substance abuse program as well.
If you're a third-time offender, then you may attract a jail term of 1 year up to 5 years in jail with a fine of $2,000. Your license may also get suspended for 36 months or 3 years. The court will also require you to complete a substance abuse and treatment program. It may require you to enroll in a driver improvement program as well. In addition, your motor vehicle may get seized as well.
Therefore the punishment for drunk driving in Louisiana depends upon certain circumstances. Additionally, your sentence may get enhanced if it is found that your BAC is higher than 0.15% or 0.20%. It shall also get enhanced if it is found that a child below the age of 12 years was present in the car.